TABLE OF CONTENTS
History of Christ Church
Subscribers to the Fund of the Brick Church 1863
Rectors of Christ Church
Ordinations and Bishops (1865-1963)
Appendix A: Excerpts from biography of Bishop Higley
Appendix B: Pictoral History of Christ Church
To the 2nd Edition
The author of the 1st edition was Mrs. Bessie Eunice (Hayes-Jordan) Sharp. Mrs. Sharp was a Sunday School teacher and an assistant Sunday School superintendant. Mrs. Sharp started the history when the Episcopal Church had reached the 100-year mark in 1940. She obtained her information from the Gospel Messenger which was a Diocesian publication, now known as the Messenger. She also obtained information from vestry notes and from older members of the church. She upgraded the history at the time of the 125th anniversary in 1965. Mrs. Sharp passed away in 1976.
When the 150th anniversary came, the committee persuaded her daughter, Mrs. Eunice Jean (Sharp) Knobloch to bring the history up to date. Mrs. Knobloch was a retired nurse (LPN) from Auburn Memorial Hospital. New information was obtained from the vestry notes and the News Letter, published by the church, as well as weekly bulletins.
I wish to thank Cheryl Root for typing and editing the history and helping me to make this a presentable publication. All proceeds from the sale of this history will go to Christ Church.
PREFACE to WEB Edition
In 2001, the 1990 edition was re-edited with no additional research and formated for Web publication. This edition was then published on the Web in 2002. Appendix A was not edited.
Submitted by: Dr. Patricia Jean Knobloch, firstname.lastname@example.org
HISTORY OF CHRIST CHURCH
In the years of 1838 and 1839, occasional services of the Protestant Episcopal Church were held in the Presbyterian Church at Jordan by Rev. Joseph T. Clark, rector of St. James' Church in Skaneateles and Rev. Dr. Baldwin of Auburn. At this time, there were a few ladies who were communicants of the Episcopal Church residing in Jordan and vicinity.
In March, 1840, Mr. Cyrus Andrews, a member of St. John's Church in Marcellus, removed to Jordan, and through his efforts, and those of the ladies above referred to, Rev. Thaddeus Leavenworth commenced services in the school house of District #17 on Main Street, in the Village of Jordan. On the 30th of November, 1840, a parish was organized. The vestry of Christ Church was incorporated under the laws of New York State, bearing the offices of: 1) rector; 2) church wardens; and, 3) vestrymen of Christ Church in Jordan, NY.
The members of the vestry were:
James Riggs and Cyrus Andrews - Wardens
Lemuel B. Raymond
Holland W. Chadwick
Daniel K. Green
George A. Mason
A certificate of incorporation was prepared, presented and signed by the chairman of the meeting, Thaddeus M. Leavenworth. James Riggs and Cyrus Andrews witnessed the proceedings. Officers elected held office until Monday of following Easter week and from then on, new officers were elected annually. Through lack of funds, due to small membership, rectors came in capacity of missionaries from other churches and were paid accordingly. Subscription papers were circulated among the members of the church to raise money to pay those rectors.
The next clergyman was Rev. Isaac Smart, who arrived early in 1842. Under his ministry, $100 was raised toward a church and deposited with the treasurer of the Diocese to the credit of the parish.
On the retirement of Mr. Smart in 1845, occasional services were held by Rev. Mason Gallagher and Rev. O. P. Holcomb. By the spring of 1845, Rev. Beardsley Northrop, from the Diocese of Ohio, located in Jordan and held services here and in St. John's in Marcellus, on alternate Sundays. About this time, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Daboll, who recently settled about five miles from Jordan in Van Buren, became members of the church and were baptized by Rev. Northrop on July 27, 1845. They were the first adults baptized in the parish.
During the latter part of the summer and fall of that year, a sufficient sum was pledged to warrant the vestry to erect a church edifice and a site was chosen on Lot No. 13, North Main Street. On December 23, 1845, the contract was let to William Gibson for the sum of $1,157.
The building was nearly enclosed when, on the 11th of July 1846, it was blown down. However, by the addition of $100, Mr. Gibson was induced to go on, and the building was completed. On January 20, 1847, Bishop Delancy consecrated the church. This work was all accomplished by a membership of only nineteen communicants. At this consecration, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Daboll, Mrs. F. H. Hovey, and two other persons were confirmed. In the year of 1847, minutes disclosed the fact that Mr. Rogers was paid $4 per Sabbath for playing the organ. The altar boy was usually paid $1 per Sabbath for blowing the organ. A fence and plank walk were built this year also.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
Rev. Northrop resigned the rectorship on July 1, 1847, and lay services were held by Spencer M. Rice until March 19, 1848. After advancement to the Diaconate, Mr. Rice was appointed by the Bishop to be Missionary at Jordan and Marcellus. He ministered at Jordan on each alternate Sunday until July 21, 1850. On December 1, 1850, he was succeeded by Rev. Loren Russ, Missionary at Jordan and Port Byron who remained until Easter, 1853 and was deeply loved and respected by members of the church and vicinity. At his resignation, a resolution was drawn up by the vestry and members of the church, which follows:
Resolved: That it is with feelings of unfeigned regret, we accept the resignation of our highly esteemed and much beloved minister, Rev. L. W. Russ, Missionary of this parish; that we are fully sensible that during the period of his ministrations in this parish, we have been highly prospered as a society, and that we are indebted for such prosperity, under God, to the untiring energy and zealous labors of our minister, who has so fully, freely, and forcibly set forth the doctrines of Christ and His Church.
Resolved: That in severing the ties which have bound him to us, we part with a Spiritual advisor and friend to whom our hearts and homes are alike opened, and welcomed; one whose consistent life, earnest advocacy of truth and devotion to the Holy Catholic Church, have endeared him to us all, and we can receive the trust which he has resigned with no feelings other than those of sorrow and regret, and in bidding him adieu, our earnest prayers will ascend to The Great Head of the Church, that his life and usefulness may be long continued, and that wherever he may be called to labor, he may ever continue Christ's Faithful Soldier and Servant; be attended always by the sympathies and aid of confiding, faithful friends, and by the grace and blessing of Almighty God.
Successor to Rev. Loren Russ was Rev. J. G. Webster in January of 1854, officiating also half of the time at Port Byron. Under his ministry, the parish increased financially and in membership. Port Byron was added to the parish. In 1854, the parish voted to sell a three foot wide strip of land south of the church extending from Main Street to the western boundary of the church lot to Charles H. Tucker for $24 on condition that no elections be held by said Tucker, his heirs and assigns on this strip of land. C. H. Tucker owned lot No. 15 next to the church.
On January 14, 1855, James Riggs passed away at the age of 47 with disease of the heart. His passing was deeply felt by remaining members of the vestry. In 1861, the salary of a rector was raised to $500. In 1861, the vestry voted to raise a subscription to pay a small debt of the church, and that one dollar be levied on each pew in the church for the purpose of paying the contingent expenses of the church for the year, commencing December 1, 1861. By 1863, the church had so increased in communicants and financial condition that the construction of a new house of worship was considered. The vestry voted to circulate a subscription to raise funds for this purpose. The following members were appointed as a committee: H. Weed, R. S. Sperry, A. F. Tracy and Henry Daboll. Rev. J. G. Webster was added and made chairman of this committee. On January 1, 1863, definite action was taken to place a brick church on the corner of North Main and Delhi Streets. The plans of H. N. White, architect, were adopted, and the job was let to Messrs. Gibson, Bruce and Pierce. Cost was not to exceed $3,300. Specifications were 32 to 34 feet by 60 feet.
The cornerstone of the new church was laid June 16, 1863. The following account was taken from The Gospel Messenger:
At three o'clock, the clergy, vestry and congregation assembled at the old church and moved in procession to the site of the new church. When the site was reached, the people arranged themselves on all four sides of the slightly elevated platform. The Rev. George Morgan Hills of Syracuse, who, in the absence of the Bishop, was designated to conduct the solemnities, read the brief exhortation and offered some short prayers. The rector of the parish, Rev. John G. Webster, then read a list of the deposits which were sealed in the box and placed it in the corner stone, whereupon the masons stepped forward, adjusted the stone with mortar, and the usual ceremony of laying the stone was performed by Rev. Hills. The Rev. John G. Webster, rector, made a very appropriate address, to which the people listened with marked attention, some from the balconies and neighboring houses eagerly giving audience. The assemblage then dispersed, and the clergy and vestry returned to the old church.
As is usually the case, the estimated cost was below the actual, and $4,172 was needed and secured before the new edifice was ready for consecration. More money was raised by subscription to buy a furnace plus furnish and trim the new church. The old church, District No. 17, was sold at auction. Pews were bought at an expense of $1,000. At the next meeting of the vestry, the new church and parish were reported free from debt. On January 13, 1864, the seats were numbered and rented for one year. The old church and lot were sold to C. H. Tucker for $550, reserving the slips, chancel, stoves, organ and sheds. Kneeling stools were procured for the new church. The rector salary was raised to $700 and a sexton was hired at $1 per week. No record was preserved of the cost of the internal furnishings, but some items appeared in the minutes of the Ladies' Church Society. The original chancel furnishings were made by Rev. Webster.
The new church was occupied for the first time on Christmas Eve of 1863. On December 29, 1863, Bishop Delancy consecrated the new church. The Gospel Messenger relates the following:
The Bishop and Clergy were met at the door by the wardens and vestry, and together proceeded up the aisle to the chancel, reciting the psalms, when the Bishop took his seat and the request to consecrate was presented by Mr. Daboll, the senior warden, and read by the Rev. Mr. Wood of Fayetteville. The sermon then proceeded, and at its conclusion, the sentence of consecration was read by the rector, The Rev. Mr. Webster. Morning Prayer was begun by the Rev. Mr. Beauchamp, the Lessons and Te Deum were read by the Rev. Mr. Hills and the Creed and Collects by the Rev. Mr. Platt of Binghamton. In the Ante-Communion Service, the Rev. Mr. Montgomery read the Commandments and Gospel, and the Epistle was read by the Rev. Mr. Northrop, a former rector of the parish. The Bishop confirmed eleven persons, every one a convert to the Protestant Episcopal Church. After this, the Bishop preached to an attentive congregation. In January, 1864, the vestry at their meeting voted to send an offer of the old organ to the Rev. Mr. Beauchamp for use in his parish if he would come after it.
After a rectorship of eleven successful years, Rev. Webster handed his resignation to the vestry on October 8, 1864, due to feeble health. He wanted to resign before, but the vestry prevailed upon him not to. It was his first and only parish, and he seated himself in the esteem and affection of the whole community. He was succeeded until February 1, 1866, by Rev. Robert C. Wall. On March 4, 1866, Rev. Albert Danker became rector, remaining in charge until Christmas of the same year. In June 1865, the Rt. Rev. William Heathcote Delancy, Bishop of the Diocese, passed away. A resolution of deep esteem and regard was formulated and copies were sent to the The Gospel Messenger and kept on file in the parish records.
Rev. S. K. Miller assumed charge on January 13, 1867, and remained until March 4, 1872. During his ministry, the free-seat system was adopted, and on May 24, 1867, the vestry voted to raise subscription on the first payment toward the purchase of a house and lot for a rectory and also repairs on it. After Rev. Miller left, the parish had occasional supplies until August 4, 1872, from which date the rectorship was filled by Rev. H. S. Phillips until June 1, 1875. During this summer, the church was completely renovated and repainted. From 1875, the parish was supplied by Rev. J. M. Benedict, Rev. William A. Ely, and Rev. Joel Davis, who remained until 1883. During this period, the Ladies Church Society contributed largely towards its support, as related in their minutes. Contributions were seat cushions and altar furnishings, Sunday School supplies, etc.
Rev. J. H. Lloyd took charge of the parish on May 6, 1883. During his rectorship, the church was recarpeted, the walls redecorated, the chandeliers purchased, the tower erected and the plain glass windows supplanted by the present ones; all at a cost of $1,700 with all bills paid. The Ladies Church Society furnished a large portion of the cost. They also started a bell fund. A new font was presented to the church by Mrs. Nancy Graves in memory of her daughter. After five years of success in Jordan, Rev. Lloyd tendered his resignation to take effect immediately, for he was about to accept a call to a thriving city in Illinois. He felt that his duties in Jordan were accomplished.
Rev. G. W. Southwell was called and began his labors in this parish on August 5, 1888. At this time, a great loss was felt in the church upon the deaths of two of its oldest members: James Stitt died May 26, 1890, and Henry Daboll died July 21, 1890. Both had been vestrymen and wardens for over forty years. Mr. S. L. Rockwell and Mr. H. H. Daboll were appointed to fill their places. Rev. G. W. Southwell left the parish and a call was extended to Rev. E. W. Saphore in June, 1898. After two successful years, Rev. Saphore resigned to accept a call to St. John the Divine Church in Syracuse, NY. He was succeeded on February 27, 1900, by Rev. Frederick B. Keable, who was rector for four successful but uneventful years. He resigned on April 4, 1904, to go to Philadelphia. A call was extended to Rev. John Hamilton Sterling. He accepted and remained in charge until March 8, 1908, when he was forced to retire because of poor health.
At a meeting of the vestry on June 9, 1908, it was decided to extend a call to Rev. Burnett T. Stafford, and he accepted the call, remaining with Christ Church until 1925. Electricity was installed in the church during 1909 and the church was shingled in May of that year. During the year of 1912, the rectory was repaired, and the organ was fully repaired and used for the first time on September 5th. After fifty-five years of continuous service (1857-1912), Mrs. Catherine Rockwell resigned as organist, and a resolution of deep appreciation was made and entered upon the minutes of the vestry. During the year of 1913, the passing of three members of the church was noted with great respect: Mrs. Nancy J. Dye, February 7, 1913, aged 79 years; Mrs. Andrews, March 17, 1913, aged 97 years; and Mrs. Ellen Sophia Tracy, April 29, 1913, aged 83 years. These ladies were active in the work of the church for many years.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
On November 30, 1915, the parish celebrated its seventy-fifth anniversary. From invitations which were given, the following program was noted:
10:00 am Holy Communion
Celebrant: Bishop Olmsted
Preacher: Bishop Fiske
12:30 pm Luncheon at Grange Hall
2:00 pm Historical Address
Rev. B. T. Stafford
3:00 pm The Growth of the Church in
Onondaga County During the
Past Seventy-Five Years
Rev. William M., Beauchamp
Rev. B. T. Stafford tendered his resignation to take effect Whitsunday, 1925. It was accepted, and a canvass was made among the members of the church. At a reception held at the home of Mrs. Jeanette Rockewell on May 25, 1924, a purse of $75 in gold was presented to the departing rector.
Rev. Walter M. Higley, then a deacon, accepted a call by the vestry, and assumed charge in June 1925. He was ordained priest in Christ Church on November 30, 1925, and a banquet was served in the parlors of the Methodist Church. The members of the church strongly felt the need of a parish house, and so, during a meeting of the vestry held December 14, 1925, a committee was appointed to investigate the plans, expense and requirements of a parish house. Plans of Mr. Yates, architect, were accepted, and the contract was given to Mr. C. J. Defendorf of Auburn, NY. Work began in May and the parish house was completed in September of the same year. A subscription paper was passed among the members of the church. People responded eagerly to this canvass. The parish house was built at an approximate cost of $9,200, and, through the generosity of Mr. H. H. Daboll, one of the wardens, and members of his family, all debts were cleared. During a banquet held at the dedication of the parish house, September 26, 1926, the mortgage covering the last debt was burned.
During the years of 1927 and 1928, the church was rewired with new lighting fixtures, re-carpeted, and redecorated on the interior. All bills were paid upon completion. After four successful years in Jordan, Rev. W. M. Higley resigned on August 2, 1929, as rector of Christ Church, to accept a call to Johnson City.
Late in 1929, Rev. J. A. Clark filled this vacancy and remained in Jordan until 1932. He worked a great deal among people in need of help, soliciting from those people who had for those who did not have. He was a humanitarian. The young people enjoyed him. During this time, a steam heating plant was installed in the rectory at a cost of $1,000 and was paid for within a very short time.
Rev. Robert C. Dunn was chosen as successor to Rev. Clark, taking charge in June 1932 as a deacon. A few months later he was ordained in Christ Church as priest. A door was cut through in the back part of the rectory and the west end of the rectory was made into a garage.
At this time, the church suffered a great loss in the passing away of H. H. Daboll who served on the vestry since 1890. At the annual parish meeting, H. J. Rickard was elected to hold the office of senior warden. In 1933, insurance coverage was investigated and brought up to date. Through the generosity of Mrs. Flansburg and her sister, Mrs. Snell, heat was installed in the garage. In 1933, the windows of the church were all repaired. Ward Buck was appointed treasurer and Allen Rickard, clerk, for year of 1934. At a special meeting called by the rector on May 6, 1934, his resignation was presented and accepted in order that he might accept a call to Pulaski.
Rev. Sidney A. Heath was called and he accepted, taking charge in August of 1934. During his rectorship, the women of the church were divided into four circles, and each circle pledged $100 for the year. St. Agnes Guild was started and made up of the young ladies of the church whose purpose was the care of the altar. They received instruction. A new roof was put on the parish house during October of 1936. Rev. Heath remained until the latter part of June 1937, when he left to accept a call to Bainbridge.
Rev. Donald Condon accepted a call to Jordan and came, as a Deacon, on July 4, 1937. On October 18th of that year, the church suffered a loss in the death of John Watts, who had held a record of fifty years of continuous service as a member of the vestry. On October 20, 1937, Rev. Condon passed his final examinations in Utica, and on November 23rd, he was ordained Priest in Christ Church. After seventeen months of faithful service he presented his resignation to the vestry on December 5, 1938, and accepted a call to Fulton, NY.
During the next four months the church was without a rector and was supplied by Rev. Ray Wootin, Bishop Saphore, Rev. Herbert G. Coddington, Rev. Karl Heyme, and Rev. M. H. Throop, among others.
A call was extended to Rev. W. Reeves Courage of Utica. He accepted, and took charge on April 16, 1939. His son, Jack Courage, was ordained during his father's stay in Jordan. A Testimonial Certificate was signed by the vestrymen of Christ Church, and he was ordained in St. Paul's Church, Syracuse, NY, by Bishop Coley on January 27, 1942. Repairs were made to the rectory. Rev. Courage remained until April 26, 1942, the third Sunday after Easter.
Lay services were held until a call was accepted by Rev. M. Dennis Lee, who took over on September 6, 1942. During his rectorship, parish bulletins were started. Extensive repairs were made to the rectory. The parish house was redecorated and the outside trim of the church was painted during the summer of 1944. In 1945, the vestry voted to accept the contract of McKay and Gill of Buffalo to redecorate the Church and caulk the windows. The furnace was repaired. During the summer, brickwork of the church was pointed up and the eaves repaired. The rectory was painted.
Rev. M. Dennis Lee conducted his last service on April 13, 1947, and left to accept a call to Seneca Falls. A supply, Rev. C. B. Blaislee served until July 27, 1947.
Rev. W. S. Anthony then came in answer to the call, took charge and conducted his first service on August 2, 1947. An oil burner was installed in the rectory. Repairs were made to the organ. After Easter vacation of 1948, kindergarten classes began in the parish house and changes made it suitable for school. Rev. Anthony remained until April 3, 1949. More supplies were sent over a period of nine or ten months. Rev. Norman J. Thurston then came on December 29, 1950. During his rectorship, the following events were noted as taken from the minutes of the vestry meetings: 1) sidewalk was blacktopped; 2) in December of 1952, fuel oil heating system was installed in the church; 3) new carpet was laid; and, 4) kneeling benches were recovered.
At a meeting in October of 1955, the vestry decided to buy the Blanchard property next to the church. Money was paid down to bind the purchase, and, in due time, necessary papers were drawn. The vestry voted to put the heating plant in safe and efficient operation. Other changes were made to render the house suitable as the Education Center. Early in 1956, the Sunday School was moved to that location.
In May 1956, Memphis Church was closed. A letter of invitation and welcome to Christ Church of Jordan was issued to their members.
In May 1957, the vestry voted to sign for gas service in the Church and rectory. Easements were signed with the gas company. A new boiler was installed in the rectory. New linoleum was laid in the kitchen. In 1957, the parking lot west of the church was finished through the help of Mr. and Mrs. Theodore Fikes, Harry G. Ceratt, and labors of several members of the church. Rev. Thurston remained until December 31, 1959, exactly ten years, when he was forced to take lighter duties because of ill health, moving to Syracuse and then to New Jersey.
Rev. Rollin D. Malany supplied from January 3, 1960, until May 25, 1960. His retirement restrictions kept him from remaining any longer. More supplies were sent for the month of June until Rev. George O. Nagle, then a Deacon, was sent by the Bishop and took charge June 27, 1960. He was ordained Priest in Christ Church on June 29, 1961. Many improvements were made in the church and parish during those years. Lighting arrangements were changed and improved from time to time to meet requirements as they arose. Gas was installed in the church in April 1961. During 1962, the Boy Scouts cleared the basement of the church, grouted the floor, and made it a recreational center. The outside trim of the church was painted white and the rectory was painted during the summer of 1960. The rectory received very extensive repairs during that year, all paid for within two years. Mr. Flansburg contributed his efforts in remodeling the altar as he cut down and refurbished two pews for the sanctuary and also refinished the altar rail during March of 1963. In 1963, the walls of the church and sanctuary received two coats of paint (pinkish gray), giving it a much lighter and more refreshing appearance. The pews were refinished by removing the old varnish and stain and giving them a lighter stain and finish. Several members of the parish volunteered to take a certain number of pews as their share of the work. The result was a great improvement.
The executive body of the church is the vestry composed of two wardens, so elected that their terms expire annually and nine vestrymen, one-third of whom are elected annually. Annual meetings are held on the Tuesday following the second Sunday in January.
All communicants of the church over twenty-one years of age, both male and female, are allowed to vote at these annual meetings. Each meeting of the vestry is presided over by a rector.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
At the Annual Meeting of 1961, a vote allowed women church members to become members of the vestry.
New carpeting was placed under the altar, lectern and pulpit. The floors were braced to prevent squeaking. The church floor was painted. Kneelers were repaired and painted. The credence table was repaired, refinished and attached to the south wall by Mr. Charles Langdon. He also converted two pews found in the basement into two benches to be placed in the sanctuary for the acolytes and servers in place of the two Bishop chairs. Varnish was removed from pews and kneeling stools and repaired. The year, 1963, was a year of change, rededication and repair. Much of the work was done by volunteers from the congregation. Donations were made from pledges to cover cost of paint for walls and floors.
In June, 1963, an altar missal and a ciborium (i.e., container for hosts distributed in communion ) were blessed and dedicated in memory of Raymond Burnett Stafford. On June 30, 1963, Robert Jordan resigned as sexton of the church after twenty years of service. Lay readers are a group of devoted men licensed by the Bishop. They either officiate at early morning prayer or read the Epistle during the Eucharist at late church.
On January 26, 1963, new linoleum was laid on the first floor hall and all of the second floor of the Education Center. A gift of seven brass crosses and matching candlesticks for the classrooms were given by Miss Louise Girard and Miss Marilyn Halstead. These gifts were intended for use for devotions during class. For the third time, the large stained glass window over the altar was broken by vandals.
On April 5, 1964, the Rt. Rev. Ned Cole, Jr. became Bishop Coadjutor of the Diocese of Central New York.
In 1964, St. Ann's Guild obtained a wax cere cloth to protect the altar from spills. St. Ann's Guild acquired two brass flower vases for the Chapel of Peace. A linen dust cover for the altar was handmade by Mrs. Edward Foley. Polishing or replating of all the brassware was done. Four super frontals for the altar in the color of the seasons were used to hang over the front of the altar about ten inches in width. White, for joy and purity, was used mostly during Christmas and Easter. The lamb in the center represented Christ, the Lamb of God. It was sewn by Mrs. Eileen Rising. Purple, for penitence, was used chiefly during Advent and Lent. The cross with the crown represents the Christian life; the two go together. It was sewn by Mrs. Robert Behrens. Red, for the tongues of fire of the Holy Ghost, was used chiefly during Whitsuntide and certain saints days. The dove in the center represents the descent of God as the Holy Ghost upon His people. It was sewn by Mrs. Eileen Rising. Green, for growth in the Christian life, was used during the Trinity season. The triangle and the three semicircles represent the Triune God; the Father, Christ the Son and the Holy Ghost. It was sewn by Mrs. Guy Farnham. By doing this work themselves, they saved $160.
There is always a need for repair of all four buildings of the church complex. The expenses tend to exceed the income and borrowing was necessary.
A book mark for the Bible on the lectern was donated by Mrs. Russell Hunn in memory of her son William. Two complete sets of altar linens of great beauty were given. One was given by Mrs. Carl Stout in memory of her mother and the other acquired by the St. Ann's Guild. Each includes a fair linen, a corporal on which the vessels stand, a pall to cover the chalice, purificators to cleanse the vessels, lavabo towels and a credence table cover.
Six kneeling cushions were received, fashioned of needlepoint by churchwomen and used in the sanctuary. The women involved were Mrs. Jessica Bramley, Mrs. Evelyn Seavey, Mrs. Carl Stout, Mrs. Glen Vatter, Mrs. Horace Whitely and Mr. and Mrs. John White. They were assembled by Carl Stout, James Johnson and the Friendly Circle. Mrs. Ada Corser presented the Church with a funeral pall to cover coffins during a funeral service. The pall was made of pure silk damask over which two bands of cloth of gold intersected to form a cross. It was six feet by ten feet and covered the casket completely to represent that all persons are equal in death before God and God's Church.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
In 1965, the Bishop approved of Episcopal priests going to Selma to march for racial equality. Rev. Nagle went representing Jordan’s congregation.
In 1965, Christ Church also became independent financially. The church had worked hard for many years to achieve this goal.
During March it was decided to make more changes in the sanctuary using some of the memorial fund:
1. The altar was moved forward so the priest could stand back of it to face the congregation during the Eucharist.
2. The altar rail was moved forward to the side of the sacristy door closer to the congregation.
3. The chancel steps were moved closer to the nave. This required carpentry and carpeting work.
4. The pulpit and lectern were moved closer to the walls making the altar rail more accessible.
5. The cross and flower vases were placed on shelves attached to the east wall.
6. Securing the floor boards prevented squeaking. Microphone jacks and electrical outlets were installed for future use. The cost was $500 and completed in one week.
On December 1, 1965, the vestry began to discuss the need for a new organ. The old one dated to the church’s construction in 1863. There was no manufacturer's name or dedication visible anywhere on it. Music was limited due to a short manual and pedal board and very few stops. It was repaired several times, starting with when it was placed in the newly built church. The vestry voted to contact five organ building firms. The cost was estimated at $10,000. The Delaware Company of Tonawanda, NY made the best proposal that was sent to the Diocesan Music Commission. The vestry voted to give the present organ to any parish to use or sell.
The purchase of a new organ and the current debt of $4,000 put the parish’s probationary status on shaky ground. They had to handle this debt without diocesan aid.
Of the proposals from Moller Pipe Organ Company, the Schlictu Organ Company and the Delaware Organ Company, the Delaware offered the most detail, the basic organ sounds (dapason, flute, string, reed, plus a mixture) and more pipes than the other companies. The console remained with the choir and the pipe cabinet was placed at the back of the church until finished in 1968.
The church acquired the Jetty property giving the present resident lifetime residency. This purchase gave room for expansion.
In May 1966, the vestry decided to combine the church's indebtedness total of $16,000. A special organ fund pledge to cover a three-year period was requested. The pledges were solicited at the same time as the Every Member Canvass in October. The leaders of the parish organizations met together and discussed the financial situation.
Property repair continued. There were many parishioners who were skilled enough to do most of the jobs when the materials were purchased. The garage was insured for $2,000 during this period.
A decision was made to ask the parish Re-Structure Committee (Bishop Cole and Rev. Smith) to meet with the vestry to find new ways to do the church's work. Two of the immediate needs were an Ushers Corps and a Choir Mother.
On November 21, 1966, Rev. Nagle gave a letter of resignation to the vestry to take effect January 9, 1967. He had accepted a call to St. Stephen's Church, New Hartford, NY. He and his family were for six and a half years. He was greatly loved by the congregation and many things were accomplished under his leadership. He was an excellent Pastor.
In 1967, the Church searched for a replacement and hoped for a suitable interim priest. The lay readers filled in as needed. On January 29, 1967, Bishop Higley was guest pastor for both Sunday services. Rev. Rollin Malaney, an old friend of the congregation, was scheduled to be the interim priest. Due to a throat problem, he was not able to come until April 2, 1967. Rev. Malaney left the last of July.
The rectory was renovated using the Overseers Group for labor. Church doors were painted royal red. New locks were put on all doors, both church and parish house. The new organ was installed during July, ahead of the fall installation date. There were still insufficient funds for it. New carpeting was after the organ was installed. Landscaping and new wrought iron railings on the steps were done as well as a fresh coat of paint in the vestibule and eggshell white paint for the ceilings. The Jetty property was cleared and leveled for parking lot expansion. In September, a door at the front was opened for public safety.
Vandals damaged the buildings on several occasions. Their smoking lead to the danger of fire. The poor boxes at the back of the church were broken into repeatedly.
The search for an new rector continued until July 2, 1967. Rev. Michael Hoover Wilson and family of Ithaca were accepted to take over the parish of Christ Church on September 15th. On September 17th, Rev. Wilson celebrated his first service with Christ Church.
On October 15, 1967, the new organ was blessed at a 10:10 am service. A special festival Eucharist in thanksgiving was held. A dedication organ recital was given that same day at 8:00 pm by Carl Stout, Jr. A reception followed in the parish hall. Rev. Nagle and family were present
for the evening of celebration.
On November 1, 1967, the new liturgy was started by Mr. Glen Vatter, who was licensed by the Bishop as a lay reader for many years and became licensed to administer the chalice during Holy Communion.
A new vestibule rug was a gift of Dr. and Mrs. Whiteley in memory of their daughter Elizabeth. A new organ cover was a thank offering gift by Mrs. William Conway in gratitude for the recovery of her husband's health.
More repairs were scheduled in October 1968. The vestry had the exterior wood on the church and the parish hall painted. The vestry decided to connect the Education Center to the parish house hot water system. Ken Pickard was chosen as contractor. The treasurer authorized the borrowing of up to $700 for expenses incurred.
In November 1968, Mrs. Louise Stout resigned as the organist and Mrs. William Braunig of Auburn was hired. The repairs and maintenance continued with the tower lights being repaired and a new timer installed as well as the parish house foundation painted masonry gray. The rector's office needed an improved heating system.
In 1969, the new liturgy continued and members' confusion was lessened as they attended more regularly. Forty copies of the Book of Common Prayer were given in memory of Mr. Hunn. The women of St. Ann's Guild and the Friendly Circle met together from time to time for decision making and fellowship.
The organ fund pledge was still going on as well as routine maintenance. The parish hall floor was refinished. Insulation was installed in the ceilings of the parish hall and kitchen. The parking lot was resurfaced.
Economic strides were made when the rector's office finally had a hot water heating system installed with separate thermostat in April 1969.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
The parish was saddened by the death of Bishop Walter Higley on May 11, 1969. Bishop Ned Cole was instituted as Bishop of the Diocese of Central New York at St. Paul's Cathedral, Syracuse on Whitsunday, May 25, 1969.
The church grounds were improved with plantings of shrubs by Mr. Preston Stanford who was assisted by other avid church gardeners. A gift of two crystal cruets for water and wine were given in memory of Maude and Walter Warren. A bequest was also given in memory of Maude Warren from her estate. This bequest was deposited with Central Investment Fund #2 of the Diocese with the dividends to be paid to the parish general expense fund.
There was much discussion concerning the resolution favoring female ordination. Voting took place at the annual Diocese meeting. The decision was in favor of women being ordained as priests. Women were also licensed as lay readers for the first time. Ministers of other denominations were allowed to participate in morning and evening prayer but could not assist at Holy Communion. The Episcopal Church reiterated the 1958 stand against capital punishment.
In November 1969, a turkey supper and bazaar were held with good success. For the Thanksgiving Eucharist, homemade bread and wine was used instead of the usual communion wafers and sacramental wine of the other celebrations. An Advent wreath was used this year and the materials and directions were also available for home use.
A ten to fifteen year-old tradition of the Jordan-Elbridge area churches sharing meetings together and services in alternate churches within the community continued.
January 1970 brought the new liturgy as ordered by the Bishop for a trial period of four months. A questionnaire was then sent to everyone. The trial period ended Whitsunday, May 17th. Parishioners were again able to state their opinions and suggestions. Some parishioners liked parts of the new liturgy but not all of it.
A summary of the Priest salary was: base, $6,300; traveling expenses, $1,000; pension fund, $1,300; insurance, $200 and one half of social security $225. The total was $9,025.
Altar linens were needed and several ladies donated the needed items in memory of loved ones: 1) four baptismal towels were given in memory of Chris Gordon Chilson and Vernon J. Welle; 2) two, wheat cross purificators in memory of Rosa Conway; 3) one wheat cross corporal for Ellen Luther; 4) one Jerusalem cross corporal for Mr. and Mrs. Hobart Daboll; and, 5) two Jerusalem cross purificators for Raymond B. and Mary Stafford.
There was again a time of fixing, cleaning and repairing. The members shared in shampooing rugs to save money. New lights were installed in the parish house and another paint party was held for the Education Center. St. Ann's Guild hosted the Bazaars and turkey suppers as well as other projects such as, monitoring the nursery. New, young women were invited to join.
The church returned to the old liturgy. On November 1st, Dr.Whitely was taken to Syracuse Memorial Hospital with a heart attack. He improved by November 29th.
By November and December, funds were very low. Pledges were not as large or as numerous. However, many of the expenses remained the same.
The junior and senior choirs were progressing nicely. The junior choir debuted during the Bishop's visit. The senior choir had an anthem each Sunday and the choral service on Christmas Eve.
The church started out in 1971 still short of finances and still asking for help in the pledge department. The vestry and the Diocese voted that young adults, eighteen years, can hold office and vote.
On May 22, 1971, Dr. Whitely died after open heart surgery at St. Luke's Hospital in Milwaukee, WI. Dr. Whitely was senior warden for many years as well as a family physician and friend to many in the community and surrounding area. He worked hard for the community and was greatly missed.
In September 1971, the new liturgy was again tried with modern wording. The parish took time to get accustomed to the new wording.
A Cherub Choir of children from age four on was instituted under the direction of Mrs. Braunig, the organist and choir director. Rehearsals were under the direction of Mrs. Donna Ryan and Rev. Wilson.
Mrs. Dorothy Beck, Rodger Beck and Glen Vatter were licensed by Bishop Cole to conduct services until the third Sunday in Advent, to assist at the Holy Eucharist and to serve the cup under the directions of the priest.
Windows were broken in the church and parish house. In four years, 75 windows were smashed by stones and snowballs. Stained glass was very expensive and difficult to match. The other windows were less costly but with so many, the budget could not handle it. Many repair jobs were completed by the parishioners without cost to the church.
The kitchen was remodeled and the parish hall redecorated in 1972. This work was accomplished with extra financial pledges for two years.
Two women were ordained priests in Hong Kong by Bishop Gilbert Baker of that Diocese. They were the first women priests in the Anglican Communion.
A portable communion set was given as a memorial for the life and work of the late Dr. Horace W. Whitely, M. D. The set was given in memory by his two sisters, Mrs. Russell Seavy and Mrs. Arthur Darrow. Home communions were started by people wishing to open their homes to a designated group of parishioners. The intention was to bring people closer together. Bishop Cole gave the clergy and warden the information that children who were baptized and attending during Confirmation instruction could receive Holy Communion if they were considered ready. Bishop Cole ordained Betty Bone Schiess as Deacon on Sunday June 25, 1972 at St. Paul's Cathedral.
Bequests were received. The first from Georgianna Kinne Roach, a check for $1,000. The second bequest from the Amber and Donnella Towne estate for $4,500 was used to decrease the indebtedness.
Area churches continued their joint meetings. They visited one another's services and vestries and gathered to discuss solutions to common problems.
Ward Buck resigned and retired as treasurer of the vestry after 35-40 years of service. Miss Margaret Somes was elected as parish treasurer. The Episcopal Church requires, by law, the auditing of the books once a year. Mr. Glenn Vatter was appointed to this task. The cannons of the church also require the treasurer be bonded.
After much discussion and due to a great need, a resolution was passed to find a chairman for a Memorial Kitchen Fund Committee. Funds needed to be raised for the kitchen and an adjacent sitting/conference room for vestry meetings and small group discussions.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
A third Eucharistic Liturgy was now tried.
In May 1973, Ollie Conway resigned as parish secretary to be able to work full time. Mrs. Jean Taylor took over. She was paid for working two days and was assisted by parishioners.
The vestry authorized Mr. James Becker to start work on the new kitchen as soon as school was out. For a few years, a nursery school was one of the tenants in the parish hall. Work on the kitchen progressed well. Bills were being paid as they came and the only cost was for materials. Labor was volunteer with Mr. Becker supervising. Special pledges and gifts were still needed. The memorial fund covered the bills up to date.
Mrs. Elizabeth Braunig, the organist, resigned on September 30, 1973. Miss Betsy Stafford was hired on a trial basis at $17 per Sunday. If she formed a new choir by the new year, her salary was to increase to $20 per week.
In November, two large vases were given in memory of Norris Johnson and were blessed and used at the Thanksgiving service.
In 1974, the Book of Common Prayer was used again for the first time in six years.
A new furnace for the Education Center was completed in April at a cost of $3,262. The system had three zones: The Priest's study, first floor and second floor. The kitchen project continued. The vestry decided that a kitchen fund drive was unwise but would reconsider for 1975.
In June, a new presiding bishop was consecrated in the National Cathedral of St. Peter and St. Paul in Washington, D. C. The audit was completed by Glenn Vatter. The sudden death of Wilfred Hunn left the church without a sexton. The vestry voted to ask Ella Hunn, his wife, to assume the duties of her late husband on a trial basis until the 31st of December.
A lack of sufficient pledges left the church in dire need of funds. Due to the economic situation, people were not eager to part with their money above their own needs. The Every Member Canvass under the Chairmanship of Fran Goodwin and Vice Chairman Ross Wightman as well as several members of the church, had training sessions to improve their canvassing of the parish for more money from pledges and gifts. The visiting captains were Dorothy Beck, Louise Gerard, Donna Ryan, Pat Ryan, Keith Schockmel and Mary Lou Wilson. They recruited thirty-two workers. There telephone callers were: Pearl Buck, Aylo Bond, Jerry Daniels, Marion Halstead, Helen Fikes, Leah Simons, Edith Stafford and Louise Stout.
The Every Member Canvass was a success. Much was learned from the congregation about what they liked and disliked about the church and its progress.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
The members of the vestry for 1975 were:
Wilho Lampinen and Roger Beck - Wardens
Olga Conway - Clerk
Carl Smith - Sexton on trial basis (formerly of St. Peter's, Auburn)
The new room off the parish hall next to the kitchen became a part of the Whitely Memorial. The vestry decided to name it St. Luke's Room. St. Luke was the “beloved physician" who accompanied St. Paul on his missionary journeys and labors.
The ordination of eleven women to the Diaconate by four Bishops in Philadelphia on July 29th created quite a stir among the male clergy.
There were several changes in staff. Betsy Stafford Bronson resigned as organist and Louise Stout resumed the position after six years. Lay reader instruction was given to Keith Schockmel and David Becker. Kitchen cleaning was done by Rev. Wilson and a volunteer.
The Super Bazaar was a super success and earned $1,705. This money went toward the completion of the kitchen.
A new social club organization, Laughter and Fellowship (LAF), was formed by some members of the church. Membership was open to all adult members of the church. A six month schedule of events was planned from January to June. Club dues were $2.50 per person. In addition, some of the events had separate fees to be paid by all attending. When reservations and space was limited, people were accepted on a first come first served basis. The club lasted about two years.
Rev. Wilson resigned on April 6, 1975. His last service was the Easter service. A reception was held for the Wilsons. He and his family were greatly missed.
A man who did sexton work at St. Patrick's was hired on a trial basis at $3.50 an hour starting March 1, 1975. The roof was repaired by Kenneth Guy who did this work before. The secretary, Jean Taylor, from St. Patrick's received $3.50.
In September 1975, Christ Church joined the Jordan Elbridge Area Church Board.
The church was again seeking a new, resident priest. Rev. Foreman was assistant facilitator. In May 1975, Rev. Frey and Rev. Vermilye were interim priests. A new church registry was suggested.
People were still not pledging what was needed. They were holding tight to their money.
In October 1975, the Nursery School used the parish house for morning classes. St. Patrick's was given permission to use the Education Center for Thursday release time, religion classes. Room was also needed for first grade class of 20-25 children and special education of 6-8 children.
The Delaware Organ Company serviced and tuned the organ on a regular basis according to the contract with them. The rectory was painted by a hired painter.
In December 1975, Rev. Frederick Foerster from Connecticut was selected and accepted the call to Jordan parish. Negotiations with the vestry and Bishop were the next steps.
On December 13, 1975, a meeting was held with the vestry, the Foersters and Mrs. Berberian, Diocesian Facilitator. Guidelines were set down for both rector and vestry. On December 19, 1975, the vestry had a special meeting to discuss the cost of making the rectory livable, the cost of moving the Foersters, as well as making the changes and repairs requested by them.
The Foersters arrived January 24th and the first service was February lst. Work on the rectory was done as needed and at the Foersters' direction.
Decisions of February were to pay Ken Pickard and to set the duties and hours of the priest.
March, 1976 brought a discussion of organization needed for church as well as communication with Ken Pickard.
Plans were being made for Rev. Foerster's institution with the Bishop to attend. Rev. Foerster's annual salary had to reach the diocesan minimum, $8,700.
Rectory repairs were finished. The church building needed security as well as masonry and roof repairs. The vestry considered the possibility of selling the Education Center. There was no longer much need for it. An Elbridge florist was chosen to be church florist. The kitchen was completed. The renovations would have to wait until the Education Center was sold, except for the pointing of the brickwork. The Nursery School was still using the parish hall, the floor of which needed refinishing. The Nursery School was a financial burden for the church. After the Masonic Lodge burned, they used the parish hall.
An endowment was left by Ward Buck to help redo the sanctuary. Ken Pickard offered to do this job. One item needed was a railing up the steps to the altar making them safer for those who are older and need the steadying assistance. In 1977, Don Jones agreed to donate $150 toward the railings. The total cost was $372. The remainder was raised from the memorial fund. Stonework and steeple repairs were completed.
In 1977, the Sunday School began using the church basement.
Audrey Banner, from All Bridge Realty Company, handled the Education Center sale. Two offers were made, and an offer of $22,500 was accepted.
Organ servicing was turned over to a subcontractor by Delaware Organ Co. Delaware continued to honor the agreement.
Mr. Seargent advised rods to be installed across the church to prevent the sides from bulging. In May 1977, the Nursery School refinished the floor in the parish hall. The sale of the Education Center was lagging.
Rev. Foerster gave notice to the vestry that he had accepted a job in Syracuse and tendered his resignation. He was a full-time priest in Jordan. If an interim priest was accepted, the expenses were reduced by 44%.
In June 1977, Rev. Grover stated that the parish needed a yearly income of $35,000. The Church and congregation needed careful re-evaluation. The recession of the 1970s contributed to the problems of the church. Many big businesses moved away from the Syracuse and Auburn areas. Some people were fortunately moved with them; others were simply left without a job. Women went to work to supplement the family income. A meeting between Bishop Cole and Rev. Foerster was held and the vestry accepted Rev. Foerster as an interim priest until August 28th and a retired priest temporarily. A facilitator was needed to find a permanent priest.
Wilho Lampinen passed away during this year. He was one of the first lay readers.
More repairs were needed. An evaluation meeting suggested that volunteers take over as many duties as possible at a savings of $3,015. Sale of the Education Center fell through. A new roof and the money to make repairs were needed. The roof cost was estimated at $11,556. Professionals were hired to do it for $4,500.
Rev. Cobb became the interim priest. He worked two days a week and had the 9:00 am service only. In September, 1977, a letter of agreement with Rev. Cobb was sent to Bishop Cole. Two services were heldon Sunday. Sunday School was at 9:00 am.
Mrs. Hillers, the facilator, made many suggestions to help the church set its goals in perspective and how to work together to straighten out the situation.
In October 1977, the rector's activities were reported and the future services, Thanksgiving and Christmas Eve, were scheduled. At this point the church was in bad repair. The walls were cracking, bricks were crumbling, the roof had to be redone and the window was broken. Most of these things needed professional repair and this required more money.
A harvest supper held on November 3rd. A railing was placed along the back steps. On December 10th, half of the money from the Super Bazaar was given to the general fund. Ten percent was put in a special fund for the possible permanent priest and $100 was put in a contingency fund.
On December 29th, there was a possibility of sharing a priest with Trinity in Syracuse and St. John's in Auburn. This proposition was placed before the congregation for their preference.
The decision to sell the rectory was placed before the congregation.
On January 4, 1978, the railings were finished on the steps to the altar. A man from North Syracuse was hired to repair the windows and replace the broken ones. Plexiglass was installed over all of the stained glass windows. Cellar windows were covered. The office machines needed repair. Locks were changed and church keys were given to the Fire Department. Residents of the area were using the parking lots at all the wrong times.
Rev. Rischel from St. Peter's, Auburn, was interested in sharing duties.
In March, the Friendly Circle donated $100 toward the roof repairs and Mrs. Higley made a gift of $25 for window repairs. A turkey supper was planned. Rev. Cobb had several suggestions for choices of priests.
In April, the church roof and the roof over the entrance were reaching crisis conditions. A contractor was sought for this work.
In May, the Jordan-Elbridge Teen Center was allowed to use the parish hall for a sock hop on a trial basis. Only members were allowed. Mary Mansfield was given the two clergy chairs and had asked to donate to the memorial fund in return.
The Nursery School was still using the parish hall in June. The Nursery School assessment of $50 a month was reduced to $30. Fire extinguishers were needed as well as a lawn mower.
Inn June, the Cathedral Glass Company provided the estimates to repair and cover all windows. The estimates were $2,308 and $3,103 and $650. A lighter budget was established with NYSEG. The telephone was removed from the rectory and Education Center and just an extension was put in the church. The cost was less than $50. The parish hall was painted as well as the north side of the rectory.
Rev. Cobb reported in October that priests are to be insured by the parish with group life insurance. A $25,000 policy would cost $201 per year and he paid a portion of the cost. Bishop Cole came on November 12 for Confirmation and to meet with the vestry. Rev. Cobb wrote the Diocese and requested the $15,100 that they agreed to loan. Payments were made within the near future.
In 1978, the Nursery School was still using the parish hall and St. Patrick was requesting the use of either the parish hall or Education Center for their release time religion classes between 2:30 and 3:30 pm every Thursday. Work was almost completed on the roof and windows. The furnace was cleaned and checked by Ken Pickard. The rectory was still on the market for $33,900. An auxiliary water heater was installed in the basement before the turkey supper. Retaining cables were put across the church to keep the walls from bulging. Regarding finances, funds of each group were to have their own bank accounts in the name of the church but the vestry was to have no control over them. By November, the Sunday School enrollment was down to eight. The windows were finished but roof repair was delayed due to the poor condition of the chimney. The sink in the rectory needed repair and Ken Pickard was hired.
In December 1978, Bishop Cole thanked the parish for a love offering and stated its use. Diocese assessment was $1,629 a year. The flooring was finished in the parish hall during Christmas vacation. The Nursery School paid half of the cost. The tower needed repair and pointing up. If a floor was installed, then the wasps could not fly down into the church.
The church in Warners had trouble with the congregation dropping off and no support. Rev. Cobb was proud of Jordan’s parish because it progressed more than any other church in the Diocese. Rev. Cobb was interviewed by Port Chester.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
The records for January and February, 1979 are missing.
In March, bricks on the north side of the Education Center were crumbling. If the building and the rectory were sold, then repair costs could be saved. The cleanup done by skilled members went a long way in saving money. Fellowship dinners were held during most of this period of financial stress. Ushers were organized to greet and seat people.
Rev. Cobb stayed until April. The parish was sorry to lose one who accomplished so much during the 1970s recession. Rev. Cobb was honored with a farewell Sunday brunch.
During April, $1,100 was withdrawn from the memorial fund for the quarterly note payment and a quarter of the Diocesan assessment. Another $100 was used for refinishing half of the parish hall’s floor. The old cross from the tower was offered to the Jordan Museum. Glen Vatter, another of the original lay readers, died.
In May, Friendly Circle gave $100 to the church. Bishop Cole sent a letter about Rev. T. G. Kingman with a copy to Rev. Kingman. A coffee hour was held to welcome Rev. Kingman. Warden Pollyann Wilson and Bishop Cole met with Canon George and the vestry. Rev. Cobb was given permission to conduct his daughter's June 30th wedding.
A motion was made to accept the purchase offer on the rectory as it was presented and authorized. Ross Wightman and Louise Girard were authorized to sign all necessary documents to effectuate the sale of the rectory upon the receipt of the approval of the Standing Committee, Diocese of Central New York, the Supreme Court of the State of New York.
There was a time of recognition for Louise Stout and the interim priest, Rev. Kingman on June 30. Clean up day proved fruitful with most repairs done except the counter top in the rectory. Ken Pickard saw to several other needs. A letter of agreement with Rev. William George was received and read. Rev. George was expected by July Ist. The youth group held a strawberry festival in the parish hall. The church picnic was held. A letter of approval was received from the Bishop in regards to the sale of the rectory. The vestry made a resolution that a pre-possession agreement with the contract purchaser and Christ Church in regards to the rectory be signed by Ross Wightman and Louise Girard on behalf of the church. The repairs required by the FHA were done in July.
Rev. George was arrived by September. He gave a report on his 29 home visits, visits to the sick and shut-ins. A reception was held at the Cathedral to honor Rev. George on September 23, 1979.
A check for $25 was sent to the Bishop's Fund for World Relief. The new liturgy was used with the prayer book and hymnals changed also.
Another cleanup day in October was done with checks on needed repairs and winterizing on the church. Professional help was needed to handle some of this work. Automatic thermostats and other measures were done to help cut energy costs.
The Bishop came on November 9th. A turkey dinner was held on the 15th. Louise Girard gave a letter of resignation as clerk of the vestry. Proceeds from the sale of the rectory paid off the outstanding diocesan note. The rest was put in a special account for the renovation of the Education Center. The previous year's diocesan assessment of $1,692 was paid and $282 paid ahead for the current year.
Rev. George was installed as Priest in Charge of Christ Church on December 9th. There was much pomp and ceremony with special music played by Carl Stout. Banners and incense added a finishing touch to the service.
Bishop John Allen thanked the parish for the contribution to the Bishops' Fund. The profit from the Super Bazaar was $2,300 and all money was retained over $200. The remaining money helped to pay for railing and new carpeting in the vestibule.
Custodian and secretary salaries were increased by 7%. The vestry decided to invest $10,000 of the monies realized from various endowments ($10,735.65?) to the best advantage for the church after investigating proper money markets. Rev. George had First Communion classes for children below Confirmation age. A fellowship and family picnic was held on May 18th. The rummage and bake sales were a big success. Locks were installed on the thermostats in June to prevent tampering. The vestry decided to reinvest their fund for six months when the certificate or account matured on July 7th. A ceremony was held to honor the June graduates and those recently confirmed at St. Paul's Cathederal in Syracuse. The church had the largest group with eleven graduates. Bishop Cole visited on November 9th. By December, windows were again in need of repair. A fellowship supper and trimming of the church was held on December 21st. The money market certificate was reinvested on January 5th. The memorial fund and organ fund were invested in new certificates at higher interest. The Bishop was pleased with the progress.
January 1981 records show altar linens were purchased with proceeds from the rummage sale. The Super Bazaar proceeds were used for Casablanca ceiling fans. The State Metal Awning Company took a window to Syracuse for repair. The railing for the narthex was still unfinished. Repairs and painting of the steeple were delayed. The Nursery School was costing more in energy than they were paying, thus, they would have to pay $50 per month in 1982. Dick Buhl observed there was more money than ever in the budget but that it bought less. There were still more repairs needed as well as a new door in the narthex. At this time in the church history, there were two wardens and nine vestry people of both sexes as well as a priest.
An audit of church finances was done by Dick Buhl and Preston Stevens. The vestry decided to close off the Peace Chapel to conserve heat. Painting was needed in the sanctuary and the railings remained unfinished. After a visit to Jordan’s sister church in Auburn, the Sunday School situation no longer seemed so bad. Ed Murphy of WSYR came on March 5th as lay reader and gave an informal talk at a luncheon after service. With girl acolytes now serving, the vestry decided that a man and woman should teach them. Glen Vetzikian and his wife were asked to take over. The sexton was terminated with two weeks severance pay. New vases were needed for the altar since the old brass ones were too small. A gift of $1,500 was given in memory of Ella Rickard, M. Rickard, her aunt, and Mary E. Brace as well as Irene E. Rickard.
The estimated cost of the railing repair was $380. Appropriate wood was difficult to find. Jack Tanner, a steeple jack from Port Byron, investigated the steeple situation. The organ needed tuning before Easter service. Organist Betsy Stafford made a list of necessary organ repairs. A thank you note was received from Bishop Cole concerning the increase in the Diocesan pledge. Bishop O'Kelly Whitaker visited on April 5th for a service and luncheon. He was consecrated on May 16th. The Friendly Circle donated $100 to the church.
Fellowship suppers continued and the church picnic was held on Sunday, June 14 in the parking lot. The cost of repairs to the steeple and the window was $1,605. Diocesan Budget was $27,000 short. A donation of $100 was given. In July, the certificate of deposit matured and was renewed. The $2,000 for steeple repairs was paid in two installments. Rev. George reported on the possibility of obtaining community development funds. A copy of the parish audit was sent to the Diocese. Betsy Stafford became organist.
In September, $1,500 was received from the Irene Rickard estate for tower repair. Randy Applebee did the railings in the narthex and donated his labor. He was sent $50. Letters were received from Bishop Whitaker and Bishop Cole thanking the church for the $100 sent for the discretionary fund. Jordan parish was again recognized as a full member and not a missionary church of the Diocese. An outstandng loan of $600 was paid in October. The loan was paid by leftover money from the steeple repairs. The outside door and the door to St. Luke's room was repaired. Fire extinguishers were serviced and one using water was purchased for $38. Glen Vetzekian investigated the burglar alarm system. The Vetzikians were training the acolytes. Several new vestments were needed for smaller children. Fifteen new Bibles were needed at a cost of $89.
Confirmation classes included seven adults and seven young people. The classes were concluded with Bishop O'Kelly Whitaker administering confirmation on December 6th with a celebration dinner following. Super Bazaar VIII was a success with many workers and contributions.
A survey was made of all three buildings, including measurements, descriptions, electrical, heating and protection. This information was used for a reduction of insurance rates by 10%. Neighbors noticed vandalism by boys breaking windows in the Education Center. A decision was made to prosecute any vandals and report to the State Police the damage done to the Education Center. Storm windows in the bathroom were also broken and the outside cellar door needed repair. The cost and the installation of the fans came to over $500.
After a study, the Bishops decided to approve the use of the Church by the Methodists after necessary work was completed.
Rev. George planned a two-week Anglican Heritage tour of Great Britain. The cost was to be $1,500-$2,000 per person and a minimum of fifteen persons was necessary.
The Sunday School presented a Christmas pageant on December 20th. Robbie Meixner gave Louise Girard a silver cross pin that he had made in recognition of her church service.
At the January 1982 annual church meeting, it was discovered that pledges were down and salaries could not be increased. The Super Bazaar did not bring in as much income as usual. Several deaths also reduced pledges. A request went out for more pledges. Parishioners were asked to leave church endowments in their wills. The Diocese needed more money now that they have two bishops to support. Money was transferred to the money market account from the day-to-day account at 12.698% interest and renewed for six months. Dick Buhl gave donated silverware to the kitchen. New faucets were installed in the kitchen.
A First Communion class was started with ten children. A sister from St. Margaret's House presented a program at the late service on March 21st with a dinner following. The acolytes hosted a successful pancake supper on Shrove Tuesday at $2 per person, family rate of $6 and under 5 free. The supper made $127.
In February, Bishop Whitaker met with the vestry and decided to wait for the Methodists to make their own decision about using the church. The decision was difficult for both congregations. By April, the Methodists decided against using Christ Church in favor of building a new one for their congregation.
The interior plaster walls of the church were deteriorated and could not be repaired by plastering. The walls were patched and sealed. The cellar entrance of the Education Center collapsed. Branches were cut from the pine tree that the vandals climbed to reach the roof of the Education Center. The sign used in the 1950's was repainted. The fellowship suppers continued. A rummage sale was held April 16th and 17th in the parish hall.
A parish picnic was held on June 27th. The parish books were audited by Dick Buhl and Preston Stevens. Everything was in good order. A new organ care service was needed. An interim organist was also needed while Betsy Stafford Foote was on vacation. Hawley Arnold filled in as supply organist.
In May, repairs and plastic covers were on the parish hall windows. The woodwork on the front of the Education Center was painted. Glass was repaired in the front windows. Before new carpeting was put down, the pews were removed and plywood installed. A visit to St. Margaret's House was planned for September 25th. Rev. George was away on a trip to England. By June 6th, separate phones with separate numbers were installed in St. Luke's Room and the Education Center. The pay phone was removed and phones were purchased.
A workday in June accomplished a great deal. Another one was planned for later. Ollie Conway offered to give a new sign in memory of Bill. Bill Meixner was thanked for his work on risk management and other volunteer chores thereby saving church money. The picnic was a success and the Money Market funds were rolled over for another six months. Bishop Cole arranged for a visit on November 7th. A company was hired to service the organ twice a year at $200.
A decision was made to volunteer one day per month to feed the street people at St. Paul's Cathederal. Ginny Johnson and Polly Wilson volunteered and began recruiting others. Again there was the possibility of selling the Education Center and using the money to build Sunday School rooms in the basement of the parish house. A local resident was interested in purchasing it. Two appraisals were made at $50 each. Allbridge Realty appraisal was for $25,000 and Central Lakes of Skaneateles was $25,500. There was a possibility of taking a mortgage at 14% for 15 to 20 years to provide a good income. A loan from the Diocese at 3-4% to repair the basement for Sunday school rooms was also possible. The money could be borrowed from the Diocesan Foundation at 7% to prepare the undercroft of the church for classrooms. Required work on the storm windows in the parish house was $1,820.
Parish fellowship suppers started on Thursday, October 14th. Selling a birthday calendar at the Super Bazaar was considered. Return would be 2/3 or approximately $500 on sale of 200 calendars.
Rev. George discussed the sale of the Education Center with Ken Bush, Jr. A 20-year mortgage of $28,000 held by the Church with a minimum payment down of $2,000 was offered to Mr. Bush. The remainder was to be at 14% interest. The transaction went through channels with the Standing Committee of the Diocese. Ken Bush gave a purchase offer with $200. The offer was for $26,000. The remaining $1,800 would be paid immediately if the offer was accepted. The final amount to be had by the church in 20 years would be $67,485.
In November, there was a special meeting held with the Bishop and the vestry of St. Paul's Church in Warners. The cost for repair on the undercroft of the Sunday School rooms and offices the Diocese Foundation was $25,000.
The treasurer was given permission in December to withdraw money to pay off current bills. The estimate of cost for making the undercroft into Sunday School rooms and offices was $14,000-$15,000. Cost of a new furnace was $10,261 or $12,000, including labor. The work was hoped to be done before February.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
In January 1983, more funds were needed. Attention was paid to Sunday School and youth programs to encourage an increase in enrollment and, thus, a larger congregation. Last falls Super Bazaar brought a profit of $1,931. Ross Wightman requested $400 to be put aside as seed for next year. The men and boys served a brunch on January 23rd, after the late service as a gesture of appreciation for the work the women did during the past years. Diocesan Foundation also approved the loan of $25,000 at 7% interest for 15 years. Resolution to sell the Education Center was reported to the New York Supreme Court. A plaque was to be purchased for the purpose of engraving the name of the outstanding acolyte for each year.
The closing of the Education Center was on January 18th. On January 23, 1983 there was a special meeting. Ken Bush, Jr. and his wife, Justine, requested a piece of property at the back known as the Jetty property. They were requesting the property for an easement on the south side of the church for scaffolding. The Bush offer was accepted and would include payment for a survey. An architect would check the undercroft before the work was started. His fee was approximately $375.
Two new vestments were needed at a cost of $60 each. In April, a CD was renewed for 30 months, $1,046. The Diocese Retirement Committee wanted donations for Bishop Cole's retirement gift by the first of August. Money for that had to be in by May 24th. Bids on the work for the undercroft were more than the current available to spend. The Committee now had to consider the possibility of excavation of the area under the parish hall for the Sunday School rooms and offices. The limit for this expense was set at $25,000. An estimate of $12,500 was received in May with the following also: 1) carpeting, $3,400; 2) wall cutting, $3,400; 3) electric work, $5,000; and, 4) outside entrance, $5,000. A loan of $10,000 from the Diocese Foundation at 7% interest was possibly necessary. A savings certificate for the memorial fund and organ fund was maturing. A motion was made to combine them into a money market, day-to-day account.
In June 1983, work progressed on the undercroft of the parish hall. The floor was poured and carpentry started. Jim Becker did the electrical work for the cost of the materials. In August there was another special meeting.
Services were to be changed from 10:30 to 10:00 am. Rev. George suggested starting a renovation fund. There was already $200 available.
In January 1984, the parish hall’s roof leaks were checked. One front door was boarded and the entrance to the parking lot from the parish hall was used. No carpeting was put down in the lower hall until the leakage was fixed. A book was started giving the names of people donating to the memorial fund for the Church renovation. In February, one front door was nearly finished. The sewer line was installed in the church. Signs were needed on the roads leading into Jordan informing travelers that there was an Episcopal Church to welcome them. Bishop Whitaker visited on March 4th. The Bishop met with the vestry following a coffee hour after the service. Glen Vetzikian requested a donation be given to the Fire Department for their quick and efficient fire service last summer. A bake sale was held and the profits went to the Fire Department.
In September, the cost of both the heat and lights needed cutting. Richard Cataloni refinished three tables at a cost of $30 and several small chairs that belonged to the Sunday School for many years. A nursery was started for infants and small children during the later service. Eileen and Stewart Rising were the hosts for a walking tour of Jordan. They were conversant with the history of the church. Virginia Allenby Statham gave $1,000 to the memorial fund in memory of Fred Jetty, her father. The money was used for new prayer books and hymnals. Mrs. Statham was also interested in contributing to new kneeling benches.
Rev. George requested the use of some of the money from the St. Paul's Cathedral fund honoring Helen Gillespie Kotz to be used for furniture for his office in the undercroft. Twelve hundred dollars was used for this purpose.
Weatherstripping was done in October on the front doors. A suggestion was made to conserve energy by lowering the ceiling in the parish hall and installing ceiling fans. Another work day was held to take care of needed repairs. The organ needed repair. Sunday School was started with a balloon launch. One came back from New Brunswick, Canada to Michael Jupin. A group of young community mothers used the nursery and study for weekly meetings to discuss their unique problems. Outside groups were allowed to use the facilities provided that they abided by the set rules.
By November, the parish hall thermostat was set at 55 during the weekdays to conserve heat and cut back the increasing energy bills.
All doors were kept closed, both upstairs and down. Some of the repairs needed: 1) the crash door at the parking lot was not locking properly; 2) parsonage repairs; 3) one broken stained glass window; and, 4) the steeple light was out. Lowering the ceiling in the parish hall and installation of the fans would cost $900-$1,200. The floors needed refinishing. A new refrigerator for the kitchen was given by the Andre family. The old one was moved to the basement for use there.
In January 1985, James Guszcza was selected as acolyte of the year and his name was engraved on the plaque hanging in the church. Ross Wightman was thanked for his outstanding work for the church as senior warden. His wife Elaine was also given praise for her hard work as chairperson for the Super Bazaar. They made note of all who in turn had helped them. Also appreciated were Gloria Jupin and other Sunday School teachers. Ruth McCollum was thanked for the last six years of directing the fellowship suppers. Virginia Johnson was lauded for her work feeding the homeless and hungry at St. Paul's Cathedral in Syracuse. Rev. George thanked Glen Vetzikian for his work with the acolytes and torch bearers.
As the property chairman, Fred Scroggin mentioned the items that were in need of repair. A list was posted in the parish house near the kitchen. New vestments were needed.
At this time, Carl Stout, Jr. of Macedon was the organist and choir director. The Super Bazaar last December had cleared $2,340. The committee met afterward and reviewed what happened and what could be done for improvement next year. Super Bazaar XII would be in 1985.
New hymnals in memory of Fred Jetty were donated by his daughter Virginia Allenby Statham and delivered in early summer. Martha Elizabeth Edwards, a long-time communicant of the church, died at Van Duyn Home and Hospital on December 11. Rev. George conducted the service at Bush's Funeral Home. Gladys Jones George, mother of Rev. George, died and a memorial service was held for her at Christ Church on December 21st with Bishop O'Kelly Whitaker and Dean Rev. Thomas Cooper officiating.
The plexiglass facing on the sign in front of the church was broken. A suggestion was made to find and restore the old wooden sign. In the meantime, the sign was temporarily repaired with the plexiglass from the parish hall window that was blocked. Fred Scroggin checked the church two or three times a week and noted a fluctuation in the temperature. A decision was made to keep all the red fire doors in the undercroft closed at all times.
Dick Buhl found that Merchants Bank was paying a higher rate of interest than Cayuga County Savings Bank on CDs so money was withdrawn from Cayuga and deposited with Merchants Bank at 8.63% interest.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
The members of the vestry for 1985 were:
Ross Wightman - Senior Warden
Barbara Schwarting - Junior Warden
Richard P. Buhl - Chairman, Finance
Jacqueline V. Keenan, filling vacancy
Theodore L. Stafford
Margaret S. Burton
Michael Jupin, Jr. - Chairman, Education
O. Fred Scroggin - Chairman, Property
Lucille P. Emerson - Chairman, Fellowship
Glen L. Vetzikian - filling vacancy
L. Burton Wilson
Irene F. Stafford - Treasurer
Dorothy L. Beck - Clerk of vestry/Financial Secretary
A new program of the National Church, Venture in Missions, was instituted to encourage giving money and personal action to the needs of others.
Bill Meixner, who was in charge of risk management, was concerned about several areas: 1) fireproofing the ceiling over the boiler; 2) repairing one outlet in the parish hall; and, 3) placing a fire extinguisher in each Sunday School room. He investigated the cost of connecting the church to an alarm system with the cable system installation. The cost would be $1,800 plus $26 per month. This cost was discussed with Glen Vetzikian. The front door needed weatherproofing. The faucets in the upstairs toilets wasted water by not shutting off. The cost of reupholstering the couch and chair in St. Luke's room was $650 and, therefore, delayed. Dick Buhl reported that property insurance would be going up 9.14% with additional premium cost of $33.
In March 1985, Fred Scroggin installed a bulletin board in the secretary's office. Several shingles fell from the roof on the Delhi Street side of the building and the roof needed repair. Keith Halstead donated a stainless steel coffee maker that was connected to the water supply for the kitchen. The cost was $485. Keith had given the coffeemaker in memorial to his mother, Marian Halstead. David Green was chosen by the vestry for janitorial services and ground care.
Barbara Schwarting was commissioned to present the following rules for parish hall use:
- A. Permission to use any of the rooms of the parish
hall will be granted by three members of the
vestry designated annually.
- B. Parish hall meeting room.
- 1) Receptions are to be confined to the main room.
- 2) Kitchen is used only with permission by adults.
- 3) A $25 refundable deposit paid in advance will be required to ensure the building will be clean and orderly after use.
- 4) Users are responsible for plastic bagging of their own trash.
- 5) A charge of $50 for non-church members use of the room.
- 6) There will be no rental of the hall for non-church sponsored, profit-making functions.
- C. Loaning of equipment is discouraged. The representatives of the vestry will administer any equipment to be loaned.
Confirmation for 1985 was held at Trinity Church in Syracuse with a good class this year.
Dick Buhl was asked to check on the rate of interest on the endowment funds. The doors were found to be peeling and Barbara Schwarting was asked to look into varnish for them. With the sale of the Education Center, the custodial job contract was revised to include costs for floor cleaning in the parish hall, kitchen and entryway. Garbage disposal was also added to the contract. Fred Scroggin and Ross Wightman notified Larry Hunn to take over the work and Rev. George was to speak to David Green.
The outside door to St. Luke's room was chosen as the ideal placement for a ramp for the handicapped. A handicapped parking sign was also placed on Main Street. Emergency lights needed to be installed in the Sunday School area in case of fire. Fire drills were also scheduled for children. The Friendly Circle donated $200 toward reupholstering the furniture in St. Luke's room. Shelves for the classrooms arrived and needed finishing and installation.
More fellowship suppers were recommended. The torchbearers held bake sales to pay for new vestments. One more lay reader vestment was needed.
The torchbearers' vestments were to be purchased in sizes 6-8. Lucille Emerson purchased a man's large size lay reader vestment as a memorial to her mother, Bessie Phinecy.
Pledges came in very well for the Venture in Mission program. A parish food pantry was started. Non-perishable foods were accepted and money was donated to buy perishables.
Glen Vetzikian had a representative from a Syracuse alarms systems company give an estimate for a fire alarm system for the church. Several estimates were needed. Emergency lights were purchased for the undercroft.
The treasurer and other records were moved from the parish hall to the secretary's office in the undercroft as a safer place.
The motion was carried by the vestry to allow Kerry Keenan to become a lay reader before his eighteenth birthday. The new hymnals were delivered in December.
The question of the furniture in St. Luke's room was ongoing as to whether or not to purchase used furniture in good condition or have the old redone. The frames were good and could be saved.
Elizabeth Edwards' estate helped the church with a bequest of $111,866 that was invested in an account at 7.04% interest. Bill Branson, Jr., a financial advisor, was engaged. He recommended the Edwards legacy be invested in certificates of deposit with varying time lengths, government treasury bills, and managed government securities yielding 9% interest. A memorial committee, with Dick Buhl as chairman, was appointed to oversee the investments and to consider appropriate memorials. This committee suggested refurbishing the Peace Chapel with a new aumbry light and altar with appropriate hangings as a memorial to Elizabeth Edwards.
A decision was made to obtain a steeple bell. One bell was located in Warners and another in Phoenix. Ted Stafford looked into the feasibility of obtaining either one of them. Some carpeting around the doors to the parish hall needed repair. The Prince of Peace Chapel had become a storage area.
The following were a few of the actions and news of the church for the year 1985. The vestry adopted and printed a rental policy for anyone using the facilities. The Rt. Rev. Edmond L. Browning was elected Presiding Bishop at the 68th General Convention in Los Angeles. Richard Mansfield's son cleaned and organized the undercroft of the church as credit toward earning his Eagle Scout award. Bishop Whitaker requested payment of the Diocesan Foundation loans. The CD with Merchants Bank amounting to $1,339 matured December 30. This investment was renewed for six additional months. The church property was insured for $600,000. Dick Buhl stated that insurance rates were changing in February 1986.
The memorial committee listed the following suggestions:
1) kneelers in pews;
2) prayer book and hymnal racks for backs of pews;
3) stove for the kitchen;
4) trees and bushes for landscaping;
5) sign for the front of the church;
6) Holy Communion supplements for prayer books;
7) stained glass memorial window;
8) ramp for handicapped entrance;
9) office equipment (typewriter, desk, copier); and,
10) surfacing of the parking lot.
The year ended with many accolades for the people who did the work. There were still many things to be done. Rev. George was given a rousing vote of thanks for his fine leadership during the past year. Acolyte of the year was James Guszcza. His name was engraved on the plaque in the church.
In 1986, children from age six received instructions for First Communion. The Super Bazaar XII held the previous December was a great success. A total of $2,244 was received. Glen Vetzekian ordered two emergency lights at $59 apiece.
Ken Bush, Jr. hired a new surveyor to resurvey the property he purchased behind the education center. Ken Guy of Auburn was contacted about fixing the leak in the roof of the parish hall.
The Friendly Circle notified the vestry that they wished to reupholster the orginal memorial furniture and restore it to St. Luke's Room. Barbara Schwarting and Karen Scroggin did the work. The Peace Chapel renovation progressed. The dossal cevitian cost $180, the aumbry light cost $150 and a placque, $10. Rev. George suggested that a hanging brass cross might be added to enhance the appearance of the Peace Chapel. He researched the cost.
The new hymnals arrived with much appreciation for the generous gift from Virginia Allenby Stratham; given in memory of her father, Fred Jetty.
The parish hall was redecorated with paper and paint by Linda and Dave Pearson. The change in appearance was impressive.
The LAF group became active again. In January there was a dinner dance at the Fireside Inn in Baldwinsville. February brought a smorgasbord in the parish hall and in March there was a meatloaf supper with an antique bottle show and lecture.
The vestry voted to have the fire alarm system installed at a cost of $1,900. The vestry felt that it was necessary since the time that someone threw a firecracker into the undercroft during construction.
Linda Pearson, of Warners, introduced the Camp Fire program Blue Birds to the church. They had many activities such as making gifts and visiting shut-ins and disabled people. A food pantry was started by the Sunday School and continued by the adults.
A second smorgasbord was planned because of the success of the first. The income was scheduled for the refinishing of the parish hall floor. The Peace Chapel was dedicated as "The Prince of Peace Chapel" in honor of the members of this parish who served in World War II. Therefore, something else had to be found to dedicate to the memory of Martha Elizabeth Edwards. A suggestion was made to display a list of the men who served.
David Pearson refinished the woodwork in the church. The litany desk needed refinishing. The carpet by the parish hall doors was repaired.
The entire undercroft of the parish hall was dedicated as a memorial to Martha Elizabeth Edwards. A brass plaque was placed by the office door. Mark Alivero was allowed to clean up the area behind the church did a very good job. A new roof was needed on the parish hall. The estimate for this work was $2,700 with a seventy-five year guarantee on the workmanship. The undercroft of the parish hall was damaged by water leaking from the roof and this was done before the dedication. Fred Scroggin and a friend installed an outlet in the Prince of Peace Chapel for the aumbry light.
The front of the church was invaded by bees. Harry Norcross from Auburn was hired to remove the bees. Keith Halstead was contacted to repair the damaged mortar between the bricks.
The yearly audit was completed by Dick Buhl and Margaret Burton. Attorney Charles A. Marganola of Auburn notified the vestry that Christ Church would receive a bequest of $100 from the estate of Eleanor Rancier.
Money making ventures of the first part of the year accomplished $1,965. These results were hoped to be repeated. Carl Stout left as organist and choir director as of September 1, 1986. He was given a reception and purse on August 31st. Betsy Stafford Foote took over as interim organist. Jean Tuohy of Syracuse was later hired as organist and choir director. She started on October 19th at a salary of $50 per service.
Mark Alivero was assisted by Douglas Becker, Ross Wightman and Howard Hawker in straightening up the parking lot.
Rev. George and Rev. Joseph Duncan of the Baptist Church discussed the possibility of starting a youth fellowship consisting of youth from both churches. Rev. George also announced the proposal to train and license lay persons to take Communion to shut-ins and ill persons of the church. The next smorgasbord in October will be a turkey dinner with a variety of other dishes.
The parish hall received a new roof and a refinished floor. The floor was paid for from the smorgasbords put on by Linda Pearson. The floor cannot be refinished again because the wood is too thin. Due to the easement of the property between the church and the old Education Center purchased by Ken Bush, Jr. changes had to be made in the deed. Charles Andrews, attorney, took care of this. The bequest from Eleanor Rancier was added to the memorial fund.
The undercroft needed maintenance. Equipment in the Sunday School rooms and office equipment needed repairs or replacement. The finance committee met with Bill Branson, the investment advisor for the Edwards Estate, to determine what amount of interest was available for getting the Education Center into shape for dedication.
The parish was sorry to learn of Ada Corser's passing. She was an older church member.
The year 1986 came to a close with many accomplishments and accolades.
New concerns opened 1987. Bill Meixner brought up questions pertaining to risk management. Was someone trained in coronary/pulmonary resuscitation? Was someone trained in the Heimlich maneuver? Was there an adequate first-aid kit? Was there a ramp entrance? Were all electrical appliances properly grounded?
Glen Haveloch wished to become a postulate for Holy Orders. He needed a vestry recommendation. The vestry enthusiastically granted this recommendation.
The motion was passed that 120 copies of the new prayer books be purchased using some of the memorial fund, 100 copies in regular print and 20 copies in large print. Dick Buhl stated that a $10,000 CD was due and, thus, renewed.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
The members of the vestry for 1987 were:
Ross Wightman - Senior Warden until 1989
Gloria Jupin - until 1990
Stephen Avery - until 1990
Richard Buhl - until 1990
Robert Joyce - until 1989
Lorinda Johnson - until 1988
Acolyte of the year was James Connor for 1985 and Richard Jupin for 1986.
Bishop Whitaker went on Sabbatical to New Zealand. The Rt. Rev. William Davidson took his place and made a visit to Christ Church and met with the vestry.
The vestibule of the undercroft was repaired.
Dick Buhl purchased a $20,000 CD at 6.35% interest and $20,000 was withdrawn from the Tucker Anthony account and added to the $10,000 CD that matured on March 3rd. All was done upon the advice of accountant, Bill Bronson.
Sixty new prayer books were ordered at $6.50 each and 5 large print ones at $9.95 apiece. The vestry decided that only monetary gifts could be accepted by the vestry. Ken Bush, Jr. paid the entire amount of $23,000 which was owing on the mortgage that the church held on the former Education Center which he had purchased. Thus, the church’s anticipated yield from mortgage interest was lost. Dick Buhl reported that the CD amounting to $14,680 would mature on June 23. He was empowered to invest this money at the best rate of interest for one year. Up to $23,000 was paid on the indebtedness to the Diocese. An audit of the treasurer's book was due. Dick Buhl, Preston Stevens and Margaret Burton were charged with this job.
Word was received of Preston Stanford's death on May 16, 1987 in New Jersey. He was a very active member of the church.
The locks were all changed on the outside doors so that one key would operate all of them. Charles Driscoll, a mason, quoted a price of $450 to cut out and repoint loose and failing brick and foundation joints and to install brick and patch holes in the cellar way.
The Sunday School continued a tradition of launching helium filled balloons containing messages on the first Sunday each fall. In November, the remaining debt to the Diocesan Foundation of $3,638 was paid off to avoid paying interest. A legacy of $1,500 was received from the estate of J. Lincoln Kratzer.
Those who were licensed as lay readers and also to administer the chalice must now apply for a license as lay Eucharistic minister. A rector has to endorse all applications for lay readers and lay Eucharistic ministers. Lay readers may read the morning and evening prayers and deliver the homily in the absence of the priest. Lay Eucharistic ministers can also be licensed as lay readers.
In 1988, pledges were down again. The economy was in another slump. More companies moved away or simply closed. People had to feed their families before they paid their pledge. Pledges were $30,000 and a 1988 budget of $45,000 was submitted in the annual report.
A decision was made to renew the contract with Kerner Merchant Pipe Organ Builders to tune and maintain the organ. Super Bazaar XIII was quite successful last December. The profit was approximately $1,500.
During January, Rev. George was ill. Many substitutes filled in. Rev. Martha Metzler and Rev. James Taylor were two of the priests who filled the pulpit. In May, Rev. George was in the hospital. The parish was saddened by his death on May 6th. A prayer service was held and a memorial service was held at St. Paul's Cathedral on May 20th. A tree was planted in memory of Rev. George. Mrs. George later approved of the purchase of handbells as an additional memorial to her husband. Funds were taken from the clergy budget for a supply priest. Rev. Martha Metzler became the supply interim.
Jean Taylor resigned as parish secretary. The new secretary was Barbara Aldrich from Skaneateles Falls. She was also parish secretary for Elbridge Community Church. A fee of up to $10 will be charged and paid to the sexton for the cleanup after a wedding. Better communication was needed from the senior warden on down.
Ten children received First Communion on Palm Sunday. A reception was held after the service. Ross Wightman suggested accessing the need for a telephone answering service by the priest and senior warden for their homes.
Spring cleaning brought repairs and painting: 1) the Peace Chapel; 2) two stained glass windows; 3) sliders on the kneelers; 4) outside trim painting; and, 5) Delhi Street entrance and church floor were done. Bond's memorial was added to the memorial fund. The Scroggin family left the congregation for Florida. A reception was held for them after church.
Rev. Alma Pollock was supplying at that time. Rev. Allen Smith, Canon to the Ordinary, met with the vestry and advised them on important considerations for finding a new priest. Thus began a long process. On June 13, a meeting was held between the vestry and Rev. Gene Anderson, rector of St. John's Church, Marcellus. The vestry voted unanimously to hire him as their consultant to help them find a new priest for Christ Church. He asked the vestry, "What is Christ Church?" and received very positive responses. Rev. Anderson outlined what his duties would be and the involvement he would undertake as consultant. The Bishop suggested that Rev. Vicky Prescott be the interim priest starting in September and voted to be in that position for a period of nine months.
The Outreach Committee continued to visit the people in nursing homes and hospitals. Bill Andre suggested that the ushers spend more time greeting people coming into the Church, especially new people.
External repairs and painting were needed before the Jordan Village Bicentennial that July. It was brought to Ross Wightman's attention that there was an old church bell in the old St. Paul's Episcopal Church in Port Byron. Ross wrote to the Mayor of Port Byron for information on obtaining the bell.
A reception was held honoring the year's graduates. The Church also provided weekend meals for Eileen and Stewart Rising who moved into the Masonic Home in Utica.
Stephen Avery called on Carol George and presented her the check for Rev. George's vacation. A letter of appreciation was received from her. The memorial fund was discussed with Mrs. George but no decision made at that time. The tree planted in his memory was an Eastern Redbud that provided beautiful color in the spring and fall.
Rev. Vicky Prescott was needed on Sundays and two days each week. A contract meeting was set with Rev. Prescott and Rev. Anderson. Requirements were counseling, house calls and direction in stewardship. Rev. Prescott was available on September 18, 1988. A covered dish luncheon was held to welcome her.
The 200th anniversary of the Ratification of the Constitution was celebrated in Jordan with many events and one of these was a concert at Christ Church. This concert included music by a choral group, organ selections and a handbell choir. Jordan is a designated bicentennial community, honored by the National Commission on the Bicentennial of the Constitution. The exterior of the church was groomed and the last of the box elder was cut. The interior of the church was spotless.
Bill Andre sought the best price for building a walk to the handicap ramp. The church safe was to be removed from Ken Bush's home and placed in the church. Glen Vetzikian lent his truck for the project.
As result of the meeting with Rev. Gene Anderson, Rev. Vicky Prescott, Judy Tarver and Stephen Avery, a Declaration of Intention was distributed to the vestry members. The vestry read, amended and submitted the declaration to Rev. Vicky Prescott. At this time, the congregation had decreased and the needs had increased. A new priest was definitely needed and the loss of Rev. George was greatly felt. He was loved by everyone and his charisma drew people. Parishioners not accostomed to women priests may have drifted away from the congregation.
Rev. Vicky Prescott introduced some variations in the services and Dick Mansfield followed with other changes involving the congregation. Jean Tuohy suggested singing the Psalms. Bulletin covers were updated. A new loose leaf book for the lectern with large print was used. These innovations were approved. At this time there were twenty students and four teachers in the Sunday School. There was renewed interest in opening the nursery during the services. The youth wanted to start up their fellowship group again and chose Rev. Duncan of the Baptist Church as their leader.
Rev. Grover, Archdeacon with the Deployment Office of the Diocese visited Jordan’s congregation. A coffee and refreshment time after church was planned so that people could talk with Rev. Grover who preached the sermon.
The handicap ramp was completed in 1988. Painting was done and the Peace Chapel was painted. The village planted a tree in front of the church. Bill Meixner made all safety inspections for the Church. Based on Glen Vetzikian’s assessment, six fire extinguishers were purchased. Lights were needed at the back of the church by the back door.
Judy Tarver went to a village board meeting at Port Byron on behalf of Ross in response to
the letters to discuss the bell. A lot of history goes with the bell. The bell was in memory of
the John Dunham family, an ancestor of Elizabeth Wilson, and the bell had been stored in
the village garage for 57 years since the closing in 1932 of St. Paul’s Episcopal Church. The
village board agreed to give the bell to us. As soon as a letter of confirmation was received,
the bell was retrieved. The Church Messenger had an article on the bell. Ross Wightman got
the bell and put it in the Chapel while the tower was made ready.
There was still a question about a triangle of land that was traded with Ken Bush for an easement. The parish lawyer, Dave Ryan, was contacted about this.
The roof needed repair. The furnace room also needed renovating. Fire resistant doors were needed. Ted Stafford was asked to do an inspection. Inspections by New York State Electric and Gas were also needed.
Barbara Aldrich resigned as church secretary. The handbells were ordered at a cost of $3,000 and paid for from the memorial fund. They arrived within 10-12 weeks.
The pledge drive was on again. It is always a problem. A place was needed to store the reserve sacraments. As of January 1989, a new canon allowed lay Eucharistic ministers to administer the wafers. Training was needed for this with the possibility of administering to the ill and infirm. The coupon bond came due and Stephen Avery took out a three year CD. Jean Tuohy's salary was increased. Bob Negus formed a committee for Rev. George's memorial fund.
In 1989, the January 23rd meeting showed the need for more funds to balance the budget. Amendments were made to the budget and accepted. The Annual Meeting was held on January 29th after the 10 am service.
Barbara Klump of Weedsport was appointed the new secretary. A house cleaning of the office was needed including straightening out the files. Rev. Prescott asked for a job description so that Barbara would not be asked to do more than her actual duties. Ross Wightman reported that Elsie Williams left money to the church in her will.
William Phillips, the school district superintendent, asked if Christ Church would be interested in having the parish hall used for the Head Start Program. There would be 34 children and would generate income for the church.
Rev. Prescott announced the upcoming 150th Anniversary at the Annual Meeting. The Super Bazaar at the end of last December was a success with a profit of $1,400.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
The members of the vestry for 1989 were:
Richard Mansfield - Senior Warden
Judith Conners Tarver - Junior Warden
William Andre - Financial Secretary
Stephen Avery - Treasurer
Laura Lewis - Clerk
Rev. Gene Anderson was the consultant to the vestry. He described the requirements for finding an appropriate priest and suggested extending Rev. Vicky Prescott's contract because it would take longer to find a priest. He suggested that past priests be invited to a luncheon.
Frances Goodwin and William Andre worked together on the Sesquicentennial celebration.
At the February 13 meeting, the vestry invited two representatives of Head Start, Michelle Gerka and William Phillips. They described the program and necessary changes, such as utilities and exits in the parish hall to be paid by the government as well as rent. Michelle was asked to research these changes and, then, report back to the vestry.
Rev. Prescott discussed the accountability of the clergy concerning their duties. She told the vestry to be honest and speak openly with Rev. Anderson. The search continued for a new priest. The vestry extended Rev. Prescott's contract until December 31, 1989. Rev. Prescott asked for permission for a wedding on August 12, 1989 of David Schwarting and Amy Whipple.
Stewart and Eileen Rising gave a generous donation to defray some of the heating costs of the church.
Glen Vetzikian met with the village inspector regarding the Head Start Program. He needed assistance from the State’s code inspector, the head of the Head Start Program, and, possibly, an architect. Exit crash bars were needed on all of the outside doors. Fire extinguishers were installed over the stove.
Mary Mansfield announced her plans to become an ordained priest. She and Rev. Prescott met with Bishop Whitaker. Many steps needed to be taken.
An audit was done at the end of June. The church donated the old choir vestments to an Episcopal church in Alaska that Ollie Conway visited. They have a choir and no vestments. So the closets in St. Luke's room were cleaned out. They also found the cover for the organ that Ollie had given to the church for the new organ.
The plans for the Head Start Program called for partitioning 40% of the parish hall with dividers 8' - 10' high that could be folded back so that the area could still be used for church activities. Besides the crash bars on the doors, a commercial dishwasher was installed. The parish hall was carpeted. All of the improvements were paid for by Head Start. In return, Head Start was allowed to use the parish hall for three years.
The stone around the church was repaired. A list of projects was considered for the 150th anniversary. There was a bake sale on the fourth Sunday every month. Jean Tuohy presented an art and music program. Some of the projects were a recognition program, a pageant at Christmas, a dinner, a community picnic involving all of the community churches, a tree planting, a time capsule burial. A suggestion was made for 50-50 tickets to make money for the projects.
A discussion was held with the Head Start director concerning the hot water system, eight-foot partitions, electric system and their paying for two-thirds of the carpeting. The windows were the parish’s responsibility. Their attorney drafted a contract that the church’s attorney reviewed. Renovations started by August Ist.
A Committee from the vestry met with Bishop Whitaker and requested a full-time priest. They presented the Head Start Program and the different commissioned works in progress. They felt the Bishop liked what he heard.
A part-time priest became the only option. An open meeting was held to discuss what the majority of the congregation wanted. Someone would be hired in the fall.
There were many suggestions for the Rev. George Memorial Fund. Scholarships, kneeling benches, and a library were some of the ideas. The handbells were dedicated to him on Sunday, June 18, 1989.
The vestry decided to cancel the consultancy with Rev. Anderson. A letter was to him and received a reply. Rev. Prescott felt that the vestry should meet with him to allow him to respond to the reasons for discharge. The vestry went to Charles Grover of the Diocese and Allen Smith for guidance. The vestry met with Rev. Anderson and discussed their decisions.
In order to acquire operating money for the coming year, the Sesquicentennial Committee continued bake sales on the last Sunday of each month, a garage and bake sale were added on July 14th and 15th and, an ice cream social was held on Sunday, July 23rd.
The question still remained concerning the very young children. Often during a long service, they were noisy and disturbed the congregation making it difficult to concentrate on the service. Some of the solutions offered: 1) a service just for their needs; 2) a nursery care area; 3) a family or children's service; and, 4) a junior choir. A suggestion was made to teach about the sacristy and the church in general as a refresher course for the adults.
Richard Mansfield reported that the gifts from wills really kept the church open. Barbara Klump resigned and Laura Lewis took over. A custodian was hired and properly oriented. Ricky Jupin mowed the lawn and trimmed the schrubs. Bill Andre wanted to purchase a new mower but there was no place to store it. The leaking in the basement continued and a dehumidifier was suggested. One was borrowed to test the situation. Attorney David Ryan wanted a complete map of the church property.
Former priests were invited to a luncheon the following year as part of the 150th anniversary celebration.
Rev. Anderson wanted to meet with the whole vestry and not a committee. Richard Buhl and Margaret Burton did the annual audit. Job descriptions for the parish secretary and the custodians were completed. A copy of each was given to the Head Start Program.
Someone was hired to look at the water damage and make suggestions for needed repairs. When the doors were changed, the locks were changed. The bell was to be installed by the following year.
Plans for the 150th Anniversary:
January - Arts and Music
March - Recognition Day for Sunday School Teachers, Lay Readers, Acolytes, and Choir Members
May 20th - The children plant a tree and bury a time capsule
July - A picnic to include all the churches of the community
September - The date of Bishop Whitaker's visit with the handbell choir performing and dinner following.
Jackie and Steve Keenan fashioned bulletin board displays of pictures and other historical data. Jean Knobloch updated the church history. A new sign for Christ Church was placed on Hamilton Street. A new sign for the front of the church was needed. Richard Lindeman was contacted about doing a survey of the property so the business with Ken Bush, Jr. could be finished. Richard Mansfield emptied the safe at Ken Bush's and gave it to him. With Bob Negus’s help, Jim Johnson was contacted to gather books, videos and bookshelves to establish a church library.
The renovation work at the parish hall in preparation for Head Start was costing more than expected. Shelves were needed for the books.
Letters were sent out to approximately thirty-five priests as prospective candidates with expectations of receiving 7-13 replies. A consultant was hired for the priest selection process.
The first payment of the $1,800 rent from Head Start was received and deposited in regular checking to pay for ongoing expenses. Ceiling fans were requested. The back door needed a crash bar. One key was made to fit all doors.
The front door was changed to swing out. This door was dangerous since ingress and egress persons could not see the other. A new landing was needed. Bill Meixner was asked to sketch a suitable solution to the problem.
Head Start was over budget and Michele Gerka met with the Jordan community to raise more funds.
The water leak was still a problem. Glen Vetzekian made a motion to give Bill Andre authority to install gutters and down spouts at a cost of $500.
People were upset that Head Start was using St. Luke's Room as an office. This room was dedicated for use as a counseling and quiet room for priests. A suggestion was made to place a plaque on the door and another in the room to inform people that the room was dedicated to the memory of Dr. Horace Whitely.
The steeple needed repair as well as some roof shingles. Virgil Hobby was contacted and charged $2,200. If he furnished the shingles, then he would charge $175 more. Memorial fund monies were used. A contract was written to ensure the work met certain specifications.
Ellie Hiller was consulted to help with selecting a priest. The process was very involved.
Mrs. Walter Higley passed away in October at a nursing home in Binghamton, NY. She was the wife of Bishop Higley, the first deacon to be ordained priest in Christ Episcopal Church.
Preparations were extensive for the annual Super Bazaar; December’s big money-maker.
A new supplemental liturgy was introduced. Training sessions were scheduled for those who had trouble with the new prayer book that gave a full range of the Biblical images of God.
As of November 1989, the Sesquicentennial Committee made $897 from projects to pay for the year’s uncoming events. The pledge to the Diocese was increased from $900 to $1,200 for the coming year with monthly payments.
Bill Andre became the sexton on December 10th. The salary was $5 per hour for 10 hours a month. As a thank you for her many years of service as sexton, Alice Hunn was paid until the end of December.
The steeple was repaired. Crash bars were needed on the back door and the door to St. Luke's room. Bill drilled holes in the sashes of the windows so that a nail could be installed to keep the windows from being forced open. The windows in St. Luke's Room needed unbreakable glass. The question of who would have keys was decided. A permanent baby sitter was needed for the 10:00 am service in the nursery. The pay was to be $10-$15 for the Christmas Eve service.
The dedication of the bell was December 19, 1989. The Sesquicentennial Committee wanted this to be the "kickoff" for the 150th anniversary. The priest at the time had officiated at the first dedication of the bell in the Port Byron church.
During December 1989, two candidates were interviewed and reported on. The vestry asked that one be interviewed again. Vicky Prescott's last day was on New Year's Eve. There was a reception on December 31st after the service. Rev. Nancy Chaffee, of Elmira, was asked to do the service on January 7th as well as when Holy Eucharist was needed. The annual meeting was scheduled for January 21, 1990, and Bishop Whitaker met with the vestry on February 4th.
The year 1990 was the big Sesquicentennial year with many events planned and many changes: 1) the no-smoking law became policy; 2) the worship service had additional changes; 3) entry ways were changed; 4) a roof drain was placed in the parish hall entry; and, 5) a new landing with steps was built at the main entrance. Because of the undercroft entrance, fire standards required that the steps on Delhi Street entrance be kept clear even though they were not in use.
Household chores included instituting commercial vacuuming due to the amount of carpeting and the high traffic. The phone in St. Luke's Room was broken. This phone was removed and placed in the kitchen. Since the church owned the phones, the rewiring was the vestry’s responsibility. Signs were put up indicating the handicap parking and entrance. A timer was needed to turn the lights on in the steeple each night.
The vestry had a breakfast meeting with the Bishop and decided to have only a 10:00 am service. As a result of the Bishop's visit, a letter was received from him praising the work and attitude or the parish. He considered Christ Church a healthy parish. Rev. Nancy Chaffee was assigned during the Lenten season.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
The members of the vestry for 1990 were:
Richard Mansfield - Senior Warden
Gloria Jupin - Junior Warden
William Andre - Financial Secretary
Laura Lewis - Clerk
The new vestry was oriented to their responsibilities and duties.
New lay readers and a rector was needed. Some of the prayer books needed repair. The librarian was asked to resolve this problem. A petty cash fund of $50 was kept for immediate needs. Many repairs were made.
The search for a priest was concluded with a declaration of intent given to Rev. Saundra Cordingly. People were already calling her Sandy, quite informally as male priests were always addressed as "Father". Rev. Cordingly's first service was July 1, 1990. A formal installation service was planned for the fall with the Bishop officiating. Rev. Cordingly had a great ministry of calling on the sick, homebound and nursing home folks.
On Sunday, May 2nd, in spite of heavy rains, the children planted a Japanese Pagoda tree and buried a time capsule to be dug up in the year 2000 A.D. An ice cream social in June was successful in spite of competition from Father's Day and graduation parties.
The outreach program consisted of: 1) Ginny Johnson's group who attended St. Paul's Cathedral once a month to feed the homeless; 2) the people who went to the Newark Friendship Faire; 3) the cards that Bill Andre sent out each week; 4) the food pantry; and, 5) the two new lay Eucharistic ministers. The lay Eucharistic ministers were Marquette Bennett and Mary Mansfield who received their licenses to take Communion to the ill and homebound.
The Sesquicentennial Dinner was held September 30th following the 10:00 am special service. Fran Goodwin was in charge of writing invitations to former priests. Richard Mansfield was assigned the introductions.
The garage sale was successful, bringing in $354. There was cake and beverage served after Sunday School during September. Bookcases were installed in the priest's office. Money for them was drawn from the memorial fund. A new altar prayer book was needed. One was donated in memorial to Mrs. Bessie Sharp as a gift from her daughter, Mrs. Jean Sharp Knobloch. This prayer book remains in use.
In September, the parish was saddened with the loss of an older parishioner, Helen Fikes.
Nancy Murphy made a motion to renew the organ tuning contract for $290. A motion was also made that the carpeting be cleaned for no more than $150.
A Celebration of New Ministry was planned for Thursday, November 1st, All Saints' Day, at 7:00 pm. In September, Rev. Cordingly met with Bishop Whitaker for preparations.
Richard Mansfield sent a letter to Rev. Nancy Chaffee telling her how much her service was appreciated, especially during Lent. He sent copies to the vestry and to Bishop Whitaker reiterating her excellent work.
Bill Andre reported on a new water heater. The old one leaked. Bill also made a poster of things that had to be done before the 150th dinner.
A fire drill was held when Sunday School started. The Bush property contract was met and sold. A new dehumidifier was needed in the Sunday School area.
In October, a television and VCR was purchased for educational purposes.
There were many preparations for the big dinner on September 30th. The landscaping was put in order and indoor cleaning was done. Six women from St. Patrick's church helped in serving the dinner. Bill Andre and Jim Redmond went to the Warners Church and got the kneelers. A plaque was placed next to the office door dedicating the Sunday School area to the memory of Elizabeth Edwards.
Rt. Rev. Michael Wilson, Dean of Ft. Charlotte, Florida and former priest accepted Rev. Cordingly's invitation to preach the sermon on September 30th for the 150th Celebration Dinner. The dinner celebrating the 150th anniversary was a great success with a large turnout. Many former priests came. The Eucharist was celebrated by Rev. Cordingly, assisted by Rev. George Nagle of Lake Placid. A prelude by the handbell choir, directed by Jean Tuohy, was followed by a Service of Communion. The priests who came were Rev. Dennis Lee and his wife Winona; Rev. Wilson and his wife Mary Lou; Rev. Kingman and his wife Dorothy and Rev. George Nagle as well as Diane Cobb, wife of one of the interim priests. Rev. Wilson's sermon was one of reminiscing that was both humorous and touching.
A dinner followed and pictures were taken and the guest book signed. One renewed friendship was Norma Crawford and Richard Knobloch. She and her husband were Richard's godparents when he was baptized 68 years ago at Emmanuel Church, Memphis.
The Sesquicentennial Committee had $810 left in their account. The money was needed for file cabinets for easy access of the historical material. A second cabinet was needed by Jean Tuohy for music. The $800 interest from the Tucker Anthony account each month was to pay current expenses.
Mary Mansfield started preparations to become a postulant for Holy Orders; a long, entailed process. In October, the vestry and the parish Commission on Ministry made their report regarding Mary's efforts. Her husband absented himself from the meeting.
The format for the service was changed to allow individuals to decide whether to stand or kneel during prayers. Many of the hymns were new and were chosen to complement the theme of the scriptures. They were chosen by Jean Tuohy and Rev. Cordingly.
Stewart Rising, the original lay reader for 25 years, died October 9th, 1990, at the Masonic Home in Utica. He was survived by his wife Eileen who also resided at the Masonic Home. He was also survived by his brother, Orville, of Oneonta. The funeral service was held in the Masonic Home Chapel in Utica. There was a graveside service at Maple Grove Cemetery in Jordan. Rev. Orval McBride of Elbridge officiated.
In 1961, Stewart Rising initiated the organization of lay readers. Two others, Theodore Richard and Glen Vatter, joined. By 1963, there were eight gentlemen lay readers. In 1990 there were five ladies and two men. All members were very dedicated.
The Celebration of New Ministry for Rev. Saundra Cordingly was held on All Saints' Day, Thursday, November 1, 1990 at 7:00 pm. Presiding Bishop O'Kelly Whitaker of the Diocese of Central New York officiated. Rev. Cordingly was very pleased with the Celebration and thanked all of those who participated.
A new copier was needed. The present one was not adequate for the volume of work. Money was also being held in reserve for the history of the church when finished.
Job descriptions were prepared for Bill Andre and Jean Tuohy. There are four paid positions in the church: 1) Rev. Cordingly was on salary; 2) Jean Tuohy was paid by performance; and, 3) Bill Andre and Laura Lewis were hourly employees. An increase of 5% across the board was discussed.
Super Bazaar XIV was held on December 1st. Police protection was needed as some of the items were taken. The total netted was $1,237.
Odds and ends of problems persisted: 1) repair of one sanctuary fan; 2) crash bars needed on the downstairs exit door; 3) front door stuck; 4) door locks needed attention. These little problems always existed, but the congregation of Christ Church grew together, learned of each other, shared joys and sorrows. The parish persevered in their faith and service to the Lord until the "close of the age".
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
CHRIST CHURCH ORGANIZATIONS
(1865 - 1963)
A group of women was organized in 1865 under the name of The Ladies Church Society. Four resolutions were adopted: 1) the group was called The Ladies Church Society; 2) duties of the members were to superintend and assist at all enterprises and entertainments connected with the church; 3) officers consisted of a president, a vice-president, a secretary, and a treasurer with one year terms of office; and, 4) any member of the church could become a member of The Ladies Church Society on payment of twenty-five cents yearly.
First officers elected were:
Mrs. E. Sperry - President
Mrs. A. F. Tracy - Vice-President
Mrs. D. W. Marvin - Secretary/Treasurer
Mrs. Earl Sperry Mrs. D. Pierson
Mrs. H. Weed Mrs. C. F. Daggett
Mrs. A. F. Tracy Mrs. A. Van Vleck
Mrs. D. W. Marvin Mrs. E. C. Graves
Mrs. H. Dodge Mrs. A. E. Fuller
Mrs. I. Riggs Mrs. Short
Mrs. A. L. Hovey Mrs. R. S. Sperry
Miss R. J. Riggs Mrs. A. Case
Resolutions were later amended to read: No lady shall hold the same office more than one year successively.
With a small amount of money on hand collected from dues, they bought an ice cream freezer and started to earn money. The second purchase was a credence table. From that time on, socials were held such as, ice cream socials, strawberry festivals, lawn teas; and, in winter, oyster suppers and chicken pie suppers. These occasions occurred at the rate of one every ten days or two weeks the year around. Socials were held at the American Hall in the winter, and on the lawns of the members in summer. A surprising amount of money was raised and the women began to help largely in the support of the church. Membership grew. Money was paid toward a carpet for the church. Coal was bought to heat the church. Five dollars was paid regularly for blowing the organ. In 1875, a vote was taken to purchase a parsonage with money earned from socials. Their first payment was $150. At a meeting in 1878, a vote was taken to appropriate a sufficient amount from the funds to pay the parish debt for the Diocesan Fund. In 1878, money was given for cushioning the seats of the church, amounting to $71. In 1880, a Loan Art Exhibition was held with net receipts of $123. Three socials were held during January and February of 1882; net receipts were $31 and given to the Sunday School.
Money was raised for an altar fund. Altar hangings were purchased and embroidered by Mrs. Craner, Mrs. Lewis and Mrs. Daboll. Vases were purchased. A bell fund was started in 1883. William Stitt gave money toward a dossal. Stephen Rockwell gave a cross for the altar. Rev. Lloyd gave a book rest. In 1885, the bell fund was used to buy a furnace for the church, $70.
In 1887, a new carpet was laid in the church for $238 and the church was redecorated at a cost of $100, all from The Ladies Church Society. Carpets, plush for chancel chairs, and part of the repair to the tower amounted to $259. In 1889, a library was purchased for the Sunday School at $52. A bell fund was again started and increased to $51. Mrs. Hughes, soprano singer, was hired at $2 per Sunday and she stayed with the church nearly two years. In 1892, the bell fund was raised to $105; in 1893, $125. In 1895, $40 was paid toward a church rectory. In 1896, the bell fund was increased to $140. At this time, more hangings were purchased for the altar. The Jordan Bank’s failure during the year 1898 or 99 affected the church a great deal because family savings were wiped out. The bell fund was lost. Rebuilding finances took time, but steadily grew. In 1903, a vote was taken to pay $50 toward church expenses. The Ladies Church Society held socials, chicken pie suppers, made aprons and tied off several quilts each year at $2 each. In 1903, the church received a dividend of $8 on their deposit in the bank when it failed. In 1904, $50 more was paid toward church expenses. Electricity was installed in the church, and the roof was shingled in 1909. The Ladies Church Society contributed to these costs. In 1908, Mrs. Stitt passed away at the age of 93 years. In 1913, Mrs. Tracy, one of the founders of the society, was called to rest.
In 1915, the first Sunday in Advent, the set of purple hangings was presented to the church by Mrs. S. L. Rockwell and Mrs. Mary E. Pierson as a thank offering. In 1921, a vote changed the name of the society to "Parish Aid" and $300 was pledged toward the building of parish rooms in the basement of the church.
The following funerals were held:
Mrs. Nancy J. Dye, February 2, 1913, 79 years
Mrs. Andrews, March 17, 1913, 97 years
Mrs. Ellen Sophia Tracy, April 2, 1913, 83 years
Mrs. H. R. Converse, May 21, 1917
In 1920 and 1921: Mrs. Crego, Mrs. Townsend and Mrs. Bell
The Parish Aid continued to pay largely toward the support of the church. Rummage sales were started and kitchen accessories were sold, etc. In 1923, all money was deposited in First Trust and Deposit and made subject to the order of the treasurer when countersigned by a rector and one warden. Membership and interest seemed to keep up. Four more members passed away in 1925: Miss Ophelia Drake, Mrs. Horace Bond, Mrs. Edwin Bond, and Mrs. Putnam.
In 1934, under Rev. Heath, the women of the church were divided into four circles, each circle to select its own name, and pledge $100 per year toward the support of the church, all circles worked under a service guild, and all money paid to the service guild treasurer. The women of all circles worked at the annual Fall Church Festival and Turkey Supper. Missionary boxes were packed and sent by the circles to different fields where they were needed.
The service guild met monthly and had a program of education and missionary work.
In 1950, the Women's Service Guild was changed to the Women's Auxiliary. A communion set for the sick was purchased, all circles pledging. Members of all circles helped with the altar work. Blue boxes were distributed for United Thank Offering, and collected twice per year, proceeds went to missions and study courses conducted during the Lenten season.
Offices from the circles were as follow: District Secretary, UTO Secretary, Educational Secretary, Supply Secretary, Christian Social Relations Secretary, Publicity Chairman, and Devotional Secretary.
The Diocese changed the name of the Women's Auxiliary to the Episcopal Churchwomen. At the annual meeting of 1961, women members of the parish were allowed membership in the vestry. During 1962, the Episcopal Churchwomen met every other month, and the church circles met on the alternate month.
There were two circles: the Friendly Circle and St. Anne's Guild.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
THE ALTAR GUILD
In the early days of the church, the older women members of the church supervised the care of the altar and sanctuary, and, in turn, taught the younger members. Usually one older member and one younger member would work together a month at a time. As symbolism has great importance in the service of the church, there was a lot to learn.
The first mention of the guild as a society was in 1897, when The King's Daughter presented the church with a white dossal, brass rod and fixtures as an Easter offering. The sanctuary acquired its furnishings through contributions from the members of the church either as thank offerings or otherwise.
In 1921, the Altar Guild was organized under the name of The Young People's Guild and later changed to The Guild of Christ Church with Mrs. Earl Houghton as president. Their sole purpose was the care of the altar and sanctuary and continued over a period of thirteen years.
St. Agnes Guild was organized during Rev. Dunn's rectorship. The guild consisted of girls aged twelve to twenty-one years to be trained for altar work. Mrs. Langdon was in charge of them. During Rev. Heath's stay, the guild was very active and became the Court of St. Agnes with much pomp and ceremony. The girls helped with altar work and received instruction in their faith.
In April 1940, the guild was reorganized with active and honorary members with annual dues of twenty-five cents. A collection was taken at each meeting. These meetings were held monthly except during the summer months. Meetings were open with devotions by the rector and time was devoted to instruction by the rector; then business was conducted. The guild established the flower board for anyone wishing to place flowers on the altar. The sale of church calendars was started in 1942, under supervision of Mary Watts, and she has sold them ever since. Money was raised for choir vestments with silver teas and other social gatherings were held to cover these and other expenditures. When the Courage family left Jordan, Mrs. Dorothy Kent Bullock was elected in place of Mrs. Courage, and she gave time and faithful service until 1960 when she was forced to retire because of ill health. Under Rev. Dennis Lee, the room opening on Main St., formerly used as a library, was converted into a children's chapel. This room was called the Prince of Peace Chapel in memory of members of the church who served in the wars. A list of the veterans appears elsewhere. The guild held rummage sales at that time under the chairmanship of Hattie Crego. Bake sales were held. A service flag was purchased. Rev. Anthony felt that religious instruction was very important in this work, so much time at the meetings was devoted to that. In 1948, the Girl's Friendly Society was organized and members were taught altar work. In 1949, a fair linen cloth was made and presented to the church by Mrs. Celia Townsend.
ST. ANNE'S GUILD
St. Anne's Guild was started under the rectorship of Rev. Thurston. The guild was made up of the young ladies of the church. They did a great deal of work in all church projects. Altar work was taken over by them. In the winter of 1962, they conducted a rummage sale and bake sale in one of the empty stores belonging to the Merchants Bank on Main Street and earned around $400. This money was turned over to the Altar Guild for furnishings made by the guild.
The acolytes consisted of young boys in their teens. In 1962, the first class for instruction started under the leadership of Mr. Daniel Whiteley, meeting once a week for ten weeks. In 1963, there were twenty-two members. They worked with the rector during the services.
The lay readers took a very active part in the program of the church. Every Sunday they either officiated at morning prayer, or they read the epistle at the Eucharist. At 7:30 every Thursday evening they offer evening prayer, remembering by name any members of the parish who are in sickness or distress. The lay readers, in turn, conducted Sunday worship in the absence of a rector. The lay readers began their duties in January of 1961 through the initiative of Mr. Stewart Rising, who served that year as senior lay reader. He was succeeded by Theodore Richards in 1962 and Glenn Vatter in 1963. The men met as a group once or twice a year, raised no money, and confined themselves to their purpose, the praise of God. In 1963, there were eight members.
The Sunday School consisted of seven grades. In church the children were taught the Bible, symbolism and church worship. After seventh grade, they were ready for confirmation instruction that included more church doctrine, the Prayer Book, the Ten Commandments, the Creed and the Lord's Prayer. They were then ready for full membership in the church. By that time, apt pupils gained a full knowledge of church doctrine and the Bible. The Sunday School was an important part of the church, for it prepared the children as future church members. In 1963, membership in the Church School numbered approximately sixty children. The parish was most fortunate in the choice of teachers who were very faithful in their work.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
Excerpts from a record of Christian servant Walter Maydole Higley, Sixth Bishop of Central New York, compiled especially for his children and grandchildren by one who gladly shared many of these experiences.
Marion M. Higley
In upstate New York, January days are apt to be cold and snowy and so it was on January 23rd, 1899, when Cornelia and Homer Higley welcomed their third child, a son, into the world. He was named Walter after his paternal grandfather.
Who knows when the idea of entering the ministry took form in Walter's mind? Perhaps it grew as slowly and naturally as did his body, his mind, and his heart.
The comfortable, conservative family into which he was born were regular communicants of Emmanuel Episcopal Church in Norwich, as was his god-father, Eppanetus Winsor, who sat straight and white haired across the aisle.
When he was ten Walter sang in the Junior choir each Sunday morning and "played" church with his sisters Sunday afternoons. Arrayed in his mother's white nightgown, he would appear before them with seasonal stoles complete with fringe constructed by the loving hands of their Baptist maid. He would then preach childish but thoughtful sermons attributed to the clergy in adjoining towns whom he knew as visiting Lenten preachers.
Before he was old enough to leave to Andover Preparatory School, he had been promoted to the coveted honor of assistant crucifer.
He entered Columbia University in 1918 as the First World War was drawing to a close but in time to be trained and honorably discharged from the US Student Army Training Corps. While at Columbia he was a reporter for the college paper, The Jester, football manager, twice president of his Sigma Chi fraternity, President of St. Andrews Brotherhood of Columbia Chapel and finally, when a senior, a member of the honorary society of Nachums. He graduated from Columbia School of Business in 1922.
Sundays in New York City found him in the Cathedral of St. John the Divine or discovering some other Episcopal Church in the vast city.
It was a year after graduation, our marriage, and work in his mother's factory that Walter determined to seriously pursue the priesthood as his vocation.
After finishing at General Theological Seminary in New York, he was ordained to the deaconate by Suffragan Bishop Edward H. Coley, April 1925 in the Norwich church in which he had been baptized, confirmed and married. In November of that same year, he was ordained to the priesthood in Jordan, New York, one of the missions to which he had been assigned. Bishop Charles Fiske ordained him and the mission proudly witnessed the ordering of a priest to the sacred ministry.
First Impressions of Jordan
Our first impression of Jordan, New York was a village of tree-lined streets, comfortable looking homes with generous porches and lawns. This was to be our home for the next four years.
Peepers chirping on warm nights and birdsong in the morning filled us with inexpressible joy after the harsh sounds of New York City.
Still it was a traumatic experience for Walter to take up residence in his first parish. A diffident and private person by nature, no one could guess his apprehension or quiet determination.
It is probable the parishioners too, were apprehensive. Christ Church had just concluded the eighteen year residence of a priest who, with declining years, had become discouraged and less active as a pastor. [Rev. Burnett T. Stafford 1908-1925]
A seemingly insignificant gesture set the stage for a caring relationship between Walter and his new flock.
It was the large garden behind the rectory.
Having arrived too late for planting, (had he known what to plant) Walter discovered to his surprise that someone had been thinking of his welfare before his arrival. Day after day new green rows appeared in the brown soil attesting to someone's concern. So it was that some of the first purchases of the new minister were, surprisingly enough, a hoe and a lawn mower. The results of the garden were an assortment of fresh vegetables which fed us amply until frost with beets, carrots, cabbages and potatoes to store in our root cellar for winter use.
This was only a beginning gesture of the extended hand of friendship. It was a subtle suggestion too, for the future springs of a thrifty householder.
Jordan, claimed one thousand inhabitants and grew up originally around the Erie Canal. On our arrival the canal still crossed the center of town though the canal bed had dried up, and for lack of funds, had become an eyesore.
An electric trolley connecting Syracuse and Rochester and all villages in between also bisected the town. Some of the villagers secured jobs in Syracuse and traveled there daily; these acquired a citified status. The other villagers found local employ or were farmers.
After living in a big impersonal city, we welcomed the shady streets and friendly people and adjusted happily to the limited shopping advantages. Huey's Department and Grocery Store seemed ready to supply all our physical needs. A bank, shoe repair shop, Mr. Howland's drug store, a bakery and Taylors garage also served us. The store-front Post Office, tiny library, Masonic lodge building, fire station and an old hotel completed the commercial area.
When Walter made his daily visit to the Post Office he was sure to meet friends and collect the latest news. The village newspaper printed once a week, scarcely sufficed.
Two local doctors and an undertaker took care of all physical and final needs for Jordan and a forty-mile radius. Dr. Harding, who lived a short block away, helped us welcome our second daughter, Cornelia, into the world.
Driving to Syracuse was exciting though seldom experienced or even needed. The intimacy of the village and the rides into the country in our model T Ford were all ventures into a new and beautifully secure world.
Events both of joy and sorrow seemed to take on a deeper coloring as we identified with these intimate surroundings. It was an ideal place for Walter to test his vocation.
The breathtaking beauty of the moon outlining the tall slim steeple of the ivy covered brick church has often been recalled through the years. The church's interior was another matter. It was dark, grimy, and musty-smelling with crude hanging oil lamps and shabby mended altar hangings. It looked neglected and unloved.
Walter at once threw open the doors and windows to let fresh air in to replace the staleness of old boards and worn carpets. He speculated on the original color of the gray-brown walls.
At an early vestry meeting the subject of renovation was suggested and wile the price was prohibitive, willing manpower was not, and work was begun.
It was sometimes frightening to watch inexperienced men climb ladders into the Gothic ceiling arches and with a putty cleaner transform the near-black ceiling into a pale blue heaven. With such daily persistence the side walls soon turned to a cream color and for whatever reason, the congregation grew. It was suspected some came to admire the change but returned to worship with the new young man who cared so much for the church they had neglected.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
The rectory was a dignified, century-old, white house. It was too large for a family with too little furniture, but is was appreciated none the less. The long floor-length windows were difficult to curtain but just right for our baby, Connie, to wave to passersby.
The two large living rooms and sunny dining room made us feel delightfully expansive after a small crowded New York apartment.
The kitchen also was large with a big black coal range for cooking. In the summer the cooking was done before the sun added to the heat of the kitchen and on cold wintry nights we ate in the kitchen and enjoyed the cozy warmth from the glowing range. With our small daughter in her highchair, we sometimes watched the timid advances of a small field mouse warming himself near the coal skuttle.
Before our first summer had passed, we had learned to gauge our use of water by the amount of rain which drained into the cistern in the cellar. One of the three faucets at our kitchen sink provided our drinking water from a sunken well; the other two were hot and cold rain water from the cistern.
Our heating bills were astronomical but we were feeling unspeakable joy and contentment in our new home.
Each day we felt that God was both testing and blessing us.
EXIT THE HITCHING SHEDS
Across the shady street from the rectory and behind the church were covered hitching sheds for at least six horses and buggies. We found the sheds fallen into disuse and disrepair. Children used them for "hide and seek", and trash accumulated there. They were, in truth, an eyesore not even valuable for their antiquity.
There grew in Walter's mind a more pressing need for the property. As interest and activity grew in the congregation and more young people drifted in, it was evident there was no place to gather except the church itself. Certainly a parish house was needed.
Cautious, apprehensive parishioners felt sure the dream was impossible but the idea persisted and in time enthusiasm replaced apprehension. It was unquestionably an ambitious venture for a low income parish but in the end the brick building was completed to match the church. It stood furnished and debt-free to the delight of all.
The parish house has been in constant use by both parish and community since the day the doors were opened fifty years ago.
THE PARISH FAMILY
Residents of a small town know it is almost impossible to maintain a private existence. This is a constant source of irritation to some and a comfort to others. We who had lived in a city where one scarcely knew one's neighbors had the comforting side demonstrated a few days after our arrival.
The fourth of July was suddenly clouded by tragedy when a three-year old girl became a human torch as her sparkler caught in her dress. This was not a private tragedy and the grieving family was upheld by countless expressions of supporting concern from the townsfolk.
Walter, too, identified with the family as he conducted his first sad funeral.
He performed his first wedding in a farm house crowded with well-wishing family and friends. The bride was described in the weekly newspaper as "the lovely daughter of ...” Forty years later, residing in the same village, she remains a faithful mirror of her early days.
This union brought lasting joy to Walter as he watched their devotion to each other and, in various capacities, to their church. He saw them often through the years and performed the marriage of one of their daughters. The parents told me many years later they had kept all the anniversary letters Walter had written them, over forty in all.
There is not space to tell of his night watches with the sick, or the babies he sealed with a kiss at baptism, or the confirmations classes he carefully prepared or the hours of patient counseling. Neither is there space to tell of his watchful care of the fabric of the church itself.
If this seems a life of burdensome details, rest assured it was not so to Walter. Each new day was greeted with anticipation and at its close, plans were being made for the next days' ventures into the new world that had been entrusted to him.
PASTOR AND PRIEST
“…One of Walter's Jordan parishioners forty years later remembered him as "the best man I ever knew."
THE BISHOP URGES
“…Christ Church, Jordan's successes soon came to the attention of the Bishop, and the day came when Walter was urged to consider another parish burdened with mortgages and other problems ...”
Walter was reluctant because of unfinished plans, unconfirmed young people, diffident but interested farmers on country roads and always the sick and elderly to whom he was devoted.
The bishop urged and waited and pointed to endless challenges for a courageous man. Finally Walter succumbed to the pressure realizing the ultimate plans for any diocese must rest in the bishop's hands. The decision to accept the call was a joyless one; we had been basking in love.
Moving day to Johnson City, New York and All Saints Church was September 1, 1929.
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS
Back to TABLE OF CONTENTS